Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

No Google Cardboard option in XRManager Settings

Discussion in 'AR/VR (XR) Discussion' started by lz7cjc, Apr 15, 2020.

1. lz7cjc

lz7cjc

Hi
    I tried to heed the warning about the API for playersettings.virtualrealitysupported being obsolete but when i installed XRManager there was no option for Cardboard

So what do i do?
    thanks

2. mfuad

mfuad

Unity Technologies

3. lz7cjc

lz7cjc

thanks for replying but I am none the wiser. Are you able to be a little more specific about how to swap to the new XR Manager. I am a bit of a newbie and don't see anything in those links that explain how to make the change. I am quite happy with the legacy system as it works fine. My concern is the warning I receive in Unity that I need to swap to XR Manager with no clear way to do this, specifically for Cardboard on iOs and Android.

thanks for your help

4. mfuad

mfuad

Unity Technologies

As mentioned in our blog post, Google VR is no longer supported by Unity in 2019.3 and beyond. The built-in integrations that you're using are still functional and available for use in 2019.3, and will remain functional in 2019 LTS with no new features, but essential bug fixes. Our recommendation is to continue using the built-in integrations in Unity 2018 or 2019 LTS, where the UI to enable VR remains in Player Settings.

The XR Plug-in Management UI is only compatible with the XR plugins that support Unity's XR SDK. At this time, the Cardboard Open Source XR Plugin for Unity is still being developed by Google and has not been released yet. Once available (use this link for latest updates), Google will provide guidance on where to download and it will show up in the XR Plug-in Management UI when you add it to your project.

Last edited: May 1, 2020
  5. lz7cjc

lz7cjc