Search Unity

No Editor Installed

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by unity_tLAmJWo7Dp1zbA, May 19, 2020.

  1. unity_tLAmJWo7Dp1zbA

    unity_tLAmJWo7Dp1zbA

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I keep trying to create a new project on unity hub, but i keep getting the message "No editor installed. Please install Unity before creating a project". i have no idea what I am supposed to do. I just installed Unity hub and i have no idea whats going on. help plz.
     
    yeetmastertheIII likes this.
  2. safaGH

    safaGH

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Posts:
    224
    Hello @unity_tLAmJWo7Dp1zbA ,

    You need to have at least one editor to create a project with. If you go to the "Installs" tab on the left navigation items, and then click on the "Add" button, you can install any editor version you like with the modules you need.
     
  3. andrew_salveson

    andrew_salveson

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2020
    Posts:
    4
    I already have Unity installed and UnityHub is showing "No Editor is available." I know an editor is installed because I have been using it for a month. Restarted Unity and now it thinks it's gone?

    If I go to the Installs tab and click LOCATE then browse to my Editor (C:\Program Files\Unity\Hub\Editor\2019.3.10f1\Editor\Unity.exe), it gives me a little toast error that says:

    Unity 2019.3.10f1is already in list. You cannot locate the same version.
    Sooooo ... is there some way to reset this? Reinstall UnityHub?
     
  4. judahhorn

    judahhorn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2020
    Posts:
    2


    It won't let me download. I click, and agree to all the terms and conditions, and then the instant it finishes downloading it deletes itself.
     
  5. D_Cergy

    D_Cergy

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Posts:
    16
    I had this same problem. Locating the apps won't work and neither deleting the editor installs through the hub.
    It cannot locate both Unity 2018 and 2019 installed on my mac.
    I deleted the hub and launch Unity directly, everything is working fine again.

    *Cannot open the asset store, installed the Hub again while the Unity still running. It works again. Reopening Unity will trigger the UnityHub and still cannot locate the editor.
    To open Unity again, I temporarily renamed the Unity Hub app.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2020
  6. AndronMedia

    AndronMedia

    Joined:
    May 13, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Had the same problem, even removing the editor from the list and downloading manually then locating. Had to uninstall Hub and open editor manually from the install location. Now I'm getting "Failed to load window layout" every time I try create a new project. Wth.
     
  7. docman75

    docman75

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    i have downloaded the unity 2019 version a 100 times but it still shows that u must have a unity editor
    what the hek?
     
  8. docman75

    docman75

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    pls fix it
     
  9. Squilit

    Squilit

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    You need to install Visual Studio for a editor ( Dont have to, any editor) and then create a 'install'.
     
  10. unity_GLVUsYGfXLGcyg

    unity_GLVUsYGfXLGcyg

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Same issue here please someone help.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. andiCR

    andiCR

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Posts:
    27
    I can't install version of Unity via Unity Hub. This is so frustrating
     
  12. ahmedaniss

    ahmedaniss

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2019
    Posts:
    84
    problem fixed here :
     
  13. Adverbb

    Adverbb

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    thanks i was reading this thread and found out i had the same problem its now fixed
     
  14. icode4food

    icode4food

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Just Run UnityHub with Administrator mode ;)
    It worked with me
     
  15. FLOATINGDORITO0

    FLOATINGDORITO0

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    i have put at least 3 editors in there and it is still not working for me
     
  16. nyckimstrongandfree

    nyckimstrongandfree

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Yep, I already had VS Community installed so unticked VS Community on a Unity version install and now I have the same problem.
     
  17. Iamsumsum

    Iamsumsum

    Joined:
    May 26, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    I have the same issueeee
     
  18. izzajevier

    izzajevier

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    This morning i had the same issue, it said that i have no editor installed and i can't login to my account and update license from unity hub. The problem is not from unity but from windows firewall itself. Try to unblock unity from your firewall, it works for my problem
     
  19. Totallynotarobott

    Totallynotarobott

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    having the exact same issue jodahhorn described in their most recent post. I could really use some help.
     
  20. Totallynotarobott

    Totallynotarobott

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2021
    Posts:
    2
  21. oketchrose

    oketchrose

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hi all,
    Help me solve the issue kindly.
     

    Attached Files:

unityunity