Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

No depthtexture on forward rendering when shadows disabled

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by EwieElektro, Feb 25, 2018.

  1. EwieElektro

    EwieElektro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    45
    Hi.
    I have a big Problem with a water shader that needs the camera depth texture. When i disable shadows (doesn't matter if i disable it on the light source or at the graphics Settings), i get no depthtexture anymore.
    I set manualy on the camera depthTextureMode to .depth, but it doesn't work. At the Frame Debugger i also see nothing with updatedepthtexture and on the water shader the dephttexture is empty.

    Any ideas what i do wrong? I found no solution with Google that works.


    for Information: i use the latest stable Unity Version.


    (sorry for my english ;) )
     
  2. bgolus

    bgolus

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    12,309
    Unity uses the depth texture for directional light shadow receiving on desktop and consoles, which is why it exists when there is a light source.

    Setting the depth texture mode from script should force it on. If it's not, then I would suspect there's a problem with your code.
    Code (csharp):
    1. void Awake() {
    2.     GetComponent<Camera>.depthTextureMode |= DepthTextureMode.Depth;
    3. }
     
  3. EwieElektro

    EwieElektro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    45
    But i have it also at the Scene view when i disable there the lights.

    Is in unity something (?) that Can break/Interrupt the depthtexture creation?
     
  4. EwieElektro

    EwieElektro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    45
    ok, i find the reason. It's something with Unity Post processing behaviour. When i disabled it, it's all fine. Very strange why. I just use Bloom
     
  5. EwieElektro

    EwieElektro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    45
    in the postprocessingbehavour script, it overrites the camera.depthtexturemode with None. that's the Problem!
     
  6. grizzly

    grizzly

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    357
  7. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Has there been a bug report on this, a case number? :)
     
  8. grizzly

    grizzly

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    357
    It had been reported on GitHub. Thomas replied...
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2018
  9. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Ah, thanks!
     
  10. EwieElektro

    EwieElektro

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Posts:
    45
    Thanks. But i fix it already ;)