Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

No Blackberry Device

Discussion in 'BlackBerry' started by GenericGame, Jul 30, 2013.

  1. GenericGame

    GenericGame

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    206
    I do not have a blackberry device. In the setup instructions posted in this forum's sticky, it's indicated that you need to supply a device PIN for testing purposes. No device, no BlackBerry PIN. Is this step required before uploading?
     
  2. iossif

    iossif

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Posts:
    332
    the pin is not needed for the device, it is needed for the codesign process. i don't know why they call it pin... it is a normal passphrase you can set when generating your key pairs.
     
  3. GenericGame

    GenericGame

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    206
    sorry, i don't mean in the registration section. In the Debug section, it's asking for a Blackberry PIN, which is quite different than your regular PIN# which I believe you are referring to. I used blackberries for over 6 years before they went to the wayside, every blackberry has a unique PIN associated with it.
     
  4. GenericGame

    GenericGame

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Posts:
    206
    in the following instructions from this page which I read as required steps to configure Unity for BlackBerry: http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Manual/bb10-setup.html

    Step #4 states:
    "Create a debug Token: A debug token is required to deploy to any Blackberry devices. In Player Settings->BlackBerry->Publishing Settings find Debug Token. Then select Create."

    Maybe what they meant to say was, if you want to test the application locally? What I'm reading here is that all published games need to have a PIN# setup in debug?
     
  5. iossif

    iossif

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Posts:
    332
    ah now i understand what you mean.

    i did skip those points because i have no BB test device at the moment. but i was able to sign and upload a .bar file to the developer center without that pin.
     
  6. TuesdayNinja

    TuesdayNinja

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    17
    Hey guys,

    Your device PIN is located on your phone under Settings/About/Category/Hardware. Go there and it's right at the top of the menu. It's a unique alphanumeric 8-digit key for each phone.
     
  7. daisySa

    daisySa

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    341
    I've registered with Blackberry at https://www.blackberry.com/SignedKeys/codesigning.html. I've generated a PIN and downloaded the .csk file but I haven't received an email with the two .csj files attached.

    Anyone else had this issue?

    Apart from this, I'm all set to go: I have BB10 Pro, I've been accepted as a vendor and I've entered the draft details - I just need to upload the binary, and I need the .csj files for the build.
     
  8. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    How long have you been waiting? If you don't receive an e-mail within 24 hours with the two files you may need to request another pair.
     
  9. Extrawurst

    Extrawurst

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Posts:
    43
    For me it ended up in SPAM on gmail ;)
     
  10. daisySa

    daisySa

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    341
    Thanks all, I have the files now (thanks Spacefrog!). However, I'm getting this error during the build. Has anyone else experienced this?

    Error: Bar file must have .bar extension: 60

    I have Build Type set to Signed and Development Build checked.
     
  11. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    What operating system are you using? When you select build run from the build settings menu what are you naming your output file?
     
  12. daisySa

    daisySa

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    341
    I'm using Mac OS X 10.8.4. I'm using Build, and specifying the game's name with .bar appended (i.e. "60 Seconds To Doom.bar"). It seems to complete the build process but then it displays this message, and I can't find a .bar file:

    Error: Bar file must have .bar extension: 60
    UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()


    I can't use Build Run because I don't have a Blackberry, so I can't specify a device address and password. If I select Build Run, I get this message:

    Author Id, Device Address and Device Password must all be set in order to use Build and Run
    UnityEditor.HostView:OnGUI()


    Any help much appreciated!
     
  13. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Ah! Okay I was able to reproduce your issue. The spaces in your bar file name are causing the problem. This is a bug so please submit a bug report against this and I'll make sure it gets fixed!

    In the mean time if you name your bar file something like "60_Seconds_To_Doom" it will work.
     
  14. _Max_

    _Max_

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Posts:
    160
    Did you read the original posters first post???
    He is saying he does not have a physical phone.
    Not sure how you missed this..
     
  15. daisySa

    daisySa

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Posts:
    341
    Fantastic, many thanks Alex, I can build the .bar file now. I'll submit a bug report right after I post this.

    I'm now running into an issue trying to upload the .bar:

    Bar is not RDK signed Bar is not AUTHOR signed This bar contains unsigned entries which have not been integrity-checked.

    I saw a couple of other people here got the same error, but it's not clear how they resolved it. If anyone knows, please let me know!

    Edit: Bug report is at https://fogbugz.unity3d.com/default.asp?558470_2m46b947jvufgk3j
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  16. wana7262

    wana7262

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    98
    i got Error: Unknown protocol : e HELP PLEASE I CANT BUILD .bar
     
  17. Grespon

    Grespon

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    388
    Hi,
    Anyone knows how to build and run to the BlackBerry Simulator ?
     
  18. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    BlackBerry simulator is currently unsupported. Sorry :-(
     
  19. Grespon

    Grespon

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    388
    Hi Alex,
    So, is there a way we can build a bar file to submit to Blackberry without a real device?
     
  20. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    yes, if you click build from the build settings window it will output a .bar file that you can submit.
     
  21. Grespon

    Grespon

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Posts:
    388
    Thanks Alex,

    I was able to submit the game to Vendor Portal. Not sure if it will work though..

    I was having troubles getting the .csj files. This doc seems to be wrong. We need to choose the second option when registering, right?
     
  22. WaterlooErik

    WaterlooErik

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Posts:
    89
    That's right Grespon. We've recently added BlackBerry ID authentication to code signing and the options changed slightly on the web form. Currently BBID signing the first option when requesting code signing keys but Unity does not support that method yet:
    https://www.blackberry.com/SignedKeys/codesigning.html

    You'll want to use the 2nd "For BlackBerry PlayBook apps..." option as highlighted in this image:

    $Untitled.jpg
     
  23. MarceloBarce

    MarceloBarce

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    Posts:
    35
    Anyone know how to solve this annoying issue? I'm getting the same error.
     
  24. sampson3333

    sampson3333

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I click the build button, but I can't find the .bar file, help me.
     
  25. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    What OS are you guys using? Are you seeing the unknown protocol error when you click "Build Run" or just "Build" from the player settings window?
     
  26. sampson3333

    sampson3333

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I use unity3d in windows7 x64 os, nothing error, I choose "signed submission" and auto signature "Yes", I click "build" then show my documents"c:\user\myname\", I can't find my product.bar file.
     
  27. AlexThibodeau

    AlexThibodeau

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Is it possible that you're working behind a proxy server?
     
  28. sampson3333

    sampson3333

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I can build it on mac os X, but it fails to launch. In win7 no way.