Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.4 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

No application menu on linux editor

Discussion in 'Linux Editor' started by antonio95woods, May 11, 2020.

  1. antonio95woods

    antonio95woods

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    I show no application menu, which makes the linux editor pretty much unusable.

    Here's a screenshot:
    upload_2020-5-11_16-43-57.png

    As you can see, I have no file, edit, etc. options. Has anyone experienced this or have any advice on how I might resolve this? Thank you

    I found an old post that outlines the same issue. The solution in that thread, however, is either not relevant to me or just doesn't make sense to me.

    I'm using KDE (not sure if this would make a difference). The "Global menu" panel widget usually renders my application menu bars.
     
  2. MadWatch

    MadWatch

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    I can confirm that the menu on Unity 2019.3 works with the Gnome environment on Ubuntu 20.04.

    I have yet to try it on KDE (I want to). But I know that KDE has a Global Menu feature. It might be related to the problem you're experiencing. Maybe try to disable it. Or maybe try keeping the Global Menu enabled and install the packages needed to make it works with all applications (such as libdbusmenu-gtk3, libdbusmenu-gtk2 and libdbusmenu-glib).
     
    antonio95woods likes this.
  3. antonio95woods

    antonio95woods

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    @MadWatch you rock, thank you. That worked for the most part.

    For future reference: the apt package is called libdbusmenu-glib-dev

    That being said, most of the menu items are now grayed out (not all of them, though, so at least it is somewhat usable now)
    upload_2020-5-11_22-54-0.png

    Any ideas? This may be a separate issue. If so, I'll consider posting a separate thread.

    Thank you
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MadWatch

    MadWatch

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    Posts:
    41
    You're welcome.

    Just out of curiosity, how well does Unity works on KDE?
     
  5. antonio95woods

    antonio95woods

    Joined:
    May 8, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Other than the grayed out menu items, superb. Better than the editor on my windows partition. It lags less often when playing my game.

    That being said, I'm still finding myself using the windows version just because of the grayed out options. It would be ideal to switch over to the linux editor once I figure out this bug. Maybe I'll try it on gnome.
     
  6. csaratakij_unity

    csaratakij_unity

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I'm sad that they don't fix this yet...
    (It has been several month guys......)
    .
    First I try with 'KDE_NO_GLOBAL_MENU=1'
    But it doesn't work.
    Turns out, gtk app seems to ignore this flag.
    .
    I confirmed with another gtk app "transmission".
    It seems to ignore this flag as well, but the global menu in transmission works perfectly fine.
    .
    In UnityEditor, I have to reload a layout.
    I select the default layout to make those menu items to work properly again.
    But if I do something like enter the play mode and then exit to the editor, the menu items will grey out again.
    .
    I end up uninstall the appmenu-gtk-module as a workaround.
    I'm using Manjaro (KDE)
    .
    This problem is clearly an UnityEditor issue.
    Can you guys give KDE some love?
    (Fix this please :D)
     
unityunity