Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Nighttime effect shader

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by SavedByZero, Dec 1, 2022.

1. SavedByZero

SavedByZero

I'm fairly new to shaders and have just started making some simple unlit shaders. I'm trying to make a "nighttime effect" shader, and so far I've got this:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. fixed4 frag (v2f i) : SV_Target
    2.             {
    3.                 // sample the texture
    4.                 fixed4 col = tex2D(_MainTex, i.uv);
    5.                 // apply fog
    6.                 UNITY_APPLY_FOG(i.fogCoord, col);
    7.                 col.r -= 0.3;
    8.                 col.b += 0.3;
    9.                 return col;
    10.             }
    I'm adding a little blue and removing a little red from each pixel here, doing a simple color temperature change. I like the look of it. But I feel like this is so simplistic that I've got to be missing something to make it more real. What could I do to improve it?

Last edited: Dec 1, 2022
  2. burningmime

burningmime

This is something of an art question, and depends a lot on the look you're going for.

First, this is also going to depend on your lighting setup. Just using a night skybox ( https://polyhaven.com/hdris/night ) with environment reflections can go a long way (and/or mess with your ambient probe). And of course, play with moonlight, shadows, and your other lights.

On to the shader portion. Unless it's for learning purposes or your own pipeline, Unity already has a lot of these effects built-in, so there's no reason to make your own shader. See...