Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

NG Tools - Edit your build from Unity Editor!

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Mikilo, Jan 6, 2016.

  1. Bitfabrikken

    Bitfabrikken

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Is there like a "getting started" guide or something? I can't seem to figure out how to implement anything NG-remote-like in my projects.
     
  2. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
  3. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    NG Spotlight, ready to ship !

    Will be part of NG Tools !

    NGSpotlightWithExport.gif
     
    AGregori likes this.
  4. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Hi Mikilo, NGTools are still rocking in 2018.2.2, but NGFav is kinda broken, please look:

    Unity_2018-08-13_08-47-28.png
     
  5. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Oh, if I'm not wrong, this has been fix in my version already.

    I'll check it again and send you a version!

    Thanks for the feedback as always!
     
    AGregori likes this.
  6. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    NGFav seems to have cured itself on its own when I upgraded to 2018.2.3... :) However, NGHub Dock fails to display when starting up Unity 2018.2.3.
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  7. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Already 2018.2.3... Didn't notice this one coming.

    I write it down. :)
     
  8. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    You were right, the bug was still there. (Very strange, I was sure I had it and fixed it few months ago)
    Now it's fixed.

    Just sent you the latest version.
     
  9. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Thank you, Michael!

    2018.2.3 seems to have broken things though: NGHub Dock doesn't show after startup, and NG FullScreen bindings are erratic, for instance I can't switch back from a fullscreen window to normal view...
     
  10. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    I started NG Hub Dock in both 2018.2.0 & 2018.2.3 and both seemed to work.

    By not showing up after startup, is it a 100% case?

    I will investigate NG Fullscreen Bindings tonight.
     
  11. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    On my rig, NGHub doesn't show up at all now, not just as a dock, but even if I call it from the menu... :/
    If it works for you, it must be in conflict with another asset on my rig.
     
  12. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Oh no... I know this bug. It's a Unity bug.

    Sometime, it happens, not only with my windows, but I think with any plugin window, Unity has them existing in its registry, but they are dead inside.
    Even when I use my debug tools to clean them, Unity fails to close them.

    You can try 2 things:
    1/ Hold Ctrl then open through Window/NG Tools/NG Hub, then turn it into dock mode.
    (The previous window will still be existing and dead by the way)

    2/ You must load a layout.
    This one completely wipes out every windows and will now provide you a clean base.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
  13. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Cool. Your 2nd workaround is my 'classic' remedy for these issues, I've been doing that for 1+ year. Still seems to be the best solution then. ;)
     
  14. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Just as a reminder when opening any window :

    - Holding Control will force the window to create a new one.

    - Holding Shift will force the window to switch from a dockable window or utility window. (Depending on the window)
     
    AGregori likes this.
  15. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    OK is there anything I can do to make NG Fullscreen shortcuts work again?
    It seems to be totally broken on 2018.2.3, and there are no errors on console.
     
  16. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    To be honest, I got no fix for this one. You brought me this issue few times, through many Unity versions.

    The only "equivalent" I know is Shift + Space, but I know, it's not exactly what you are looking for.


    I will give it another try tonight. See what might have change in 2018.2.3, deep down there.
     
  17. Nihilus0

    Nihilus0

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Posts:
    52
    @Mikilo Hi, I need your help.
    I only installed 'NG Console Free' and 'NG Game Console Pro' on the 2018.2.4f1 version.
    However, an error occurred in the example of the 'NG Game Console Pro' and I couldn't learn about your asset.

    "ArgumentException: Failed SupportTextureFormat; format is not a valid TextureFormat"
    "UnityEngine.SystemInfo.SupportsTextureFormat (TextureFormat format) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Runtime/Export/SystemInfo.bindings.cs:384)"
    If I ignored this and went ahead, I was generating a lot of errors. I attach the errors with a screenshot. This is to request for help because i was inaccessible the script.

    In addition, I do not intend to use NG Tools server yet. What do i do when i don't use it?

    P.S. I am not an English speaker. I used a translator. I am sorry my poor English.
    20180908_221453.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
  18. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Hi Cosmoraph!

    Please contact me at "support@ngtools.tech".
    Also tell me which language do you speak, maybe I can speak it :)

    Send me all the logs, so I can help you more.

    Source code are given on demand, but only for NG Tools Pro.


    If you do not want to use the server, don't do anything, it is all fine.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2018
  19. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Hi Mikilo, I hope you're around. ;)

    Something really broke in 2018.2.11, I mean my paid NG license is deleted everytime I quit Unity, and NG Settings seem to self-destruct:


    Failed to unload 'Assets/NGSettings.asset'
    UnityEditor.AssetDatabase:CreateAsset(Object, String)
    NGToolsEditor.HQ:CreateNGSettings(String)
    NGToolsEditor.Preferences:‭‍‍‏‏‎‬‪‍‎‌‪‌‮‭‎‎‌‏‎‭‪‮‮()
    NGToolsEditor.Preferences:‍‬‏‌‫‎‫‬‌‫‏‭‏‮‭‮()
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
  20. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Woah, first time I see this error.

    Have you done something before?

    The stacktrace is stating that I am trying to create a new asset, but Unity is failing somehow.
     
  21. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Mikilo likes this.
  22. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Ok, thank you for the intel, I will investigate this WE, hopefully Substance is free
     
    AGregori likes this.
  23. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Howdy Mikilo!
    NGConsole seems to misbehave on Unity 2018.3.1, please investigate if you find the time. ;)
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  24. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    On it on it! :)
     
    AGregori likes this.
  25. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    2019-01-17_16-53-10.png
    This is what I meant. It works, it just looks kinda chaotic. :)
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  26. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Thank you for your feedback and yes, the bug has been fixed already! :D
    I did that just yesterday without knowing you were impacted. :cool:

    The release is close. If want you a preversion, contact me I'll send it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
    AGregori likes this.
  27. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Hi, I have this error now, new to me:

    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    at UnityEditor.EditorWindow.set_position (UnityEngine.Rect value) [0x0003d] in C:\buildslave\unity\build\Editor\Mono\EditorWindow.cs:1025
    at NGToolsEditor.NGHub.NGHubWindow.UpdateDockPosition () [0x000d8] in <6191ab1d560749839d3e19363411f69d>:0
    at NGToolsEditor.NGHub.NGHubWindow.SetDockMode (System.Boolean mode) [0x00025] in <6191ab1d560749839d3e19363411f69d>:0
    at NGToolsEditor.NGHub.NGHubWindow.OnEnable () [0x00118] in <6191ab1d560749839d3e19363411f69d>:0
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  28. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Strange, I am sure I already fixed this one already. Maybe your version does not contain the fix.

    I'll send you one.
     
  29. pyphehe

    pyphehe

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    hello! I'm using NG Missing Script Recovery with 2018.3.6f1
    When I click "start recovery", it won't work.


    NGTools: UnityEngine.Object UnityEditor.PrefabUtility.GetCorrespondingObjectFromSource(UnityEngine.Object)
    at NGToolsEditor.NGMissingScriptRecovery.NGMissingScriptRecoveryWindow+‍‏‭‭‍‪‏‫‬‫‌‮‪‬‍‮‫‫‬‏‭‮.MoveNext () [0x00122] in <3505b8227c5d43708dce8688810e9611>:0
    at NGToolsEditor.Utility+‎‎‫‍‪‎‍‫‫‍‪‫‫‌‍‍‪‬‌‌‪‏‏‫‮‭‫‍‮.‮‍‏‬‏‏‌‎‪‎‬‮‪‪‮‭‫‪‌‫‪‌‮‮ () [0x00000] in <74b0d9837b704288b2b73218795dfd70>:0
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogException(Exception)
    NGTools.InternalNGDebug:LogException(Exception)
    NGToolsEditor.‎‎‫‍‪‎‍‫‫‍‪‫‫‌‍‍‪‬‌‌‪‏‏‫‮‭‫‍‮:‮‍‏‬‏‏‌‎‪‎‬‮‪‪‮‭‫‪‌‫‪‌‮‮()
    UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions()
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  30. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Hi!

    Oh, let me investigate in few minutes...
     
  31. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    I just tried a very simple case using Unity 2018.3.6f1 and it worked.

    Can you provide me a project or give me more clues?
     
  32. pyphehe

    pyphehe

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for your reply!

    I'm trying to move C# classes from dll to source code.
    1, Delete the plugin dlls
    2, Copy all the C# code from plugin's project to unity project
    3, Compiled
    3, Run Missing Script Recovery
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  33. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Hi Mikilo, I'm trying to rearrange items in NGFav using the usual Arrange icon to the left (which is really useful in a long Fav list). But I'm not allowed to do it in Unity 2018.3.6... Is there a reason why? Thanks.
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  34. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Hum... let me download the version, I come back to you soon.
     
    AGregori likes this.
  35. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    It is working fine in a brand new project in Unity 2018.3.6.
    I added 4 selections, nothing is acting weird.

    Do you have more clues?
     
  36. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Then it's a local conflict with some assets I have.o_O Thanks for looking into it.
     
  37. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    I know there is a bug with drag & drop in general.

    I don't know if this bug exists in later versions, but sometime, dragging does not work at all if it was not "initialize first".

    To force initialization, I do drag a GameObject from Hierarchy and then all other dragging spots will work as expected.
     
    AGregori likes this.
  38. chrisk

    chrisk

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Posts:
    700
    Hi, Mikilo,
    Is NG Tool still being actively developed? I just tried NG Tool free version on 2018.3.10f1 and quite a many tools are not working properly and it looks like NG Tool hasn't been updated for a while.

    I tried NG Nav Selection, (the window is empty at all time), NG Asset Finder ( it cannot find Scene Game object)

    And btw, I think it will help the sale much more if you provide source code for the Pro version. Many, including me, are hesitant to buy something without the source code because many assets are poorly maintained and we can run into a wall without the source code. Will you make source code available for Pro?

    Thanks.
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  39. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Hi chrisk,

    Yes is is still actively developed.
    I don't support Unity >2017 with the current released version (1.1.90).
    Send me an email at "support at ngtools dot tech" and I will send you the latest version (1.1.90z).

    Those tools should work, at least they work on my side. Maybe you need the latest.

    Source code is a big issue. Maybe we can talk about it in private.
     
  40. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Amazing update on the store (2 april), thanks for it! ;)
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  41. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    ...However, I'm spammed with this error:
    'NGHotkeys' does not contain a definition for 'SubMenuItemPath'.

    Also, the Fullscreen Bindings window now crashes. o_O
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  42. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Oh, let me investigate that!
     
  43. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Can you delete the hotkeys file?

    You should find it at Assets/Plugins/NGTools/Editor if I'm not wrong
    It is an auto-generated .cs file.

    Or if you don't find it here, look at NG Fullscreen Bindings, there might be another .cs file.

    I don't remember exactly because in the new version, I completely got rid of them.


    If you want a clean install, delete NGTools and reimport the latest package.


    (There will be a new update soon, I did a huge optimization pass)
     
  44. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Hey, deleting the hotkeys file seems to have done it. Merci!
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  45. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Do you still have crashes?
     
  46. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    I needed to delete another script from the Fullscreen Bindings folder, and now it seems to be solved....
     
    Mikilo likes this.
  47. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    Revisiting how an improved Inspector might work...

    NGFlowInspector.gif
     
    AGregori likes this.
  48. AGregori

    AGregori

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    510
    Mikilo, I'd like to ask if it's safe to upgrade to Unity 2019.1 while using the latest NGTools pro? Or should we wait for an update? :)
     
  49. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    I did covered Unity 2019.1, I might say... yes! XD


    (Edit: Replied in less than a minute, I'm sharpening my senses... :cool:)
     
    AGregori likes this.
  50. Mikilo

    Mikilo

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Posts:
    688
    I will soon submit a version containing a lot of optimizations.

    But above all, a new tool, something that looks "awesome" :D
     
    AGregori likes this.