Search Unity

[Newby] Searching for some example of a point & Click home building game.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nielsnl68, Feb 16, 2017.

1. nielsnl68

nielsnl68

Hello all,

I am new to Unity and want to learn more about it. My goal is to create a game like this game: design this home or Little Dream Home but with a twist. I want to put it in space.

Sadly im not that familiar with all the game types that exist and therefor i have a hard time finding an game example in the asset store or on github.

Would someone mind to tell of there is a example script out there, that i can modify? Or give me something to search for? I did already some searching but did not found anything useful or i just did not see the potential of the shown asset.

thanks in advanced

Niels

2. ikazrima

ikazrima

I haven't played those games but I'm currently working on something similar.

You'll need a runtime level editor of sort. I'm using my own system, but I guess you could use this. Replace with custom models and you get yourself something to play with.

Putting it in space or anywhere else doesn't really make a difference on how you develop it. Fundamentally it's still the same just with different background and props.

3. nielsnl68

nielsnl68

Thank you for your time to answer me.
    I have been looking at the engine you suggested but sadly i can not see how i can use it for what i wanted to do.
    Would you mind explaining a bit more?

Thanks

4. ikazrima

ikazrima

Sorry didn't weigh in your experience before. I'll give an overview how I made mine. (The most basic version, can't show the complete one)

grid.png

What's required for the system to work (these are things that you can google individually)

- A grid system. 2D grid is enough for mine. Objects are constrained within the grid.
    - Move object by dragging (touch or mouse, or maybe you want to use controller idk)
    - A snap-to-grid function. Mine can only move an object by 1 unit at a time.