Search Unity

Newbie wants to make a good first 3D game?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Timeless_Coding, Mar 28, 2022.

1. Timeless_Coding

Timeless_Coding

Hi, so me being a noob I wanted to know where I should start. See I have a big dream for an open world with loads of mechanics in it. Some people said a 2D game some said 3D so I'm wondering where I should truely start as a brand new person. Also when making a game whats the steps you should take to complete it?

Where can I go to find good videos to teach me all I should know for an open world?

Thanks for for any feedback.

2. TonyLi

TonyLi

If you don't yet have any experience making 2D or 3D art, it's easier to get started making basic 2D art. A 2D setting can also provide constraints to keep you from biting off too much. You're going to bite off too much anyway, though. We all do when we're starting.

Unity is ultimately a 3D engine, so it's not necessarily harder to make a 3D game. Just keep in mind that you're not going to make Elden Ring in your first attempt. Try for something like a single player Fall Guys. It'll still be an immensely challenging learning experience, but it's something within reach. Big, open world games are something to tackle quite a long way down the road. But you can't get there until you start walking on that road by completing smaller projects to learn everything required to make your games.

On the topic of art, the Unity Asset Store has lots of great art packs for very reasonable prices. After your game is framed out and working with placeholders (e.g., cubes and capsules), you could consider replacing the primitives with storebought art. But don't get distracted by pulling art into your project from the very beginning.

Unity has some great tutorial resources, as do Youtube streamers such as Brackey's, Code Monkey, and others.