Search Unity

newbie questions

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Boonalot, Sep 8, 2017.

1. Boonalot

Boonalot

Hey :)
    I watched some Turorials about making shaders, because i want some fancy effects on an Avatar model i made for VRChat...i especially liked
    , where some guy makes an animated UI shader. Now as soon as i start modifing shader examples i get stuck everywhere, like an unlit shader doesnt cast shadows and such, i digged a little more into and the more i do the more i get confused, im totally new to the subject of scripting and even though i already have some basic knowledge from looking up documentations and other tutorials , i dont really know where to start experimenting and coding.
    What i want to achieve is a shader that makes the texture of the model move randomly a little ( i understood the concept of what the guy did in the Video) and if thats possible i would like to move the skin randomly a little over the vertex function as well, but of course i want it to cast and receive shadows too just like in the normal surface shader.Anyway ...even one of those functions would be great to have.