Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie question

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by hockeyguy3485, Feb 15, 2019.

1. hockeyguy3485

hockeyguy3485

Hi everyone! I’m a teacher looking to try my hand at unity and want to make a basic point counting app for my use at school. I just want to be able to tally student participation points at the end of class. Does anyone have suggestions for tutorials that I should look into that would help me work towards this? I have very limited coding experience (one c++ class at uni) but am excited to learn! Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Unity uses C#, not C++, so start with some basics of C# tutorials (they don't need to be C# tutorials regarding Unity, just C# in general, as any Unity tutorial will assume you walk in with at least the basics of this standardized language). Then take a look at some of the tutorials in the Learn section (at the top of each page here click Learn) or 3rd party tutorials on Youtube, and walk through the Unity manual (also in the Learn section under Documentation) just to get an idea of what the engine can do for you that you don't need to reinvent the wheel for. Don't need to read the whole thing, just get familiar with the various topics unless something specifically interests you.