Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie question: Rigidbody's rotation is lagging

Discussion in 'Physics' started by semaforo, Oct 30, 2019.

1. semaforo

semaforo

Hey guys, newbie here. Not exactly a programmer, but I started recently to mess around with Unity and Bolt, and I was trying to make a few things here and there.

But I recently ran into an issue on a controller I'm trying to make.

Every time I change directions on the keyboard, the character itself takes a few frames to actually catch up. Which means if you are facing right, and press left on the keyboard, the character will walk a bit right before turning left.

I'll try to explain how I made the controller, since Bolt doesn't really provide a C# script, sorry. But I don't think it's hard to understand.
    - My character is using a RigidBody component.
    On Update:
    - I first shoot a raycast downwards, get the normal, do a Vector3.Cross with the player's transform.right and set it as a variable called forwardDirection;
    - I then take input from both Axis (GetAxis Horizontal and Vertical) onto an Atan2 function, multiyply by Rad2Deg, add my camera's Y rotation, and set the result as a Y value on a quaternion variable called targetRotation;
    - I put an if statement (if GetAxis Horizontal !=0 or GetAxis Vertical !=0), then set the transform.rotation of the player to equal targetRotation;
    On Fixed Update:
    - I use the same if statement (if GetAxis Horizontal !=0 or GetAxis Vertical != 0), then RIgidbody.MovePosition to Rigidbody.position + forwardDirection * speed * time.deltaTime.

Hopefully this gif helps illustrate (the red capsule is the player, the white one is representing my actual input on the keyboard, and the blue arrow is a debug.drawray from transform.position to forwardVector).

My begginer skills in debugging have led me to the following: