Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie question, how to write to DynamicBufferElement

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by abob101, Feb 17, 2020.

1. abob101

abob101

Hi all,

I'm very new to ECS, and struggling to figure how to work with DynamicBuffers (amongst other things). It's easy enough to create a DynmicBuffer, add elements and iterate through them accessing the data. However how can I modify the value of an element?

For example, I have a series of "Stats" stored against a Character/Monster/etc. So an Archetype with a DynamicBuffer something like this:

public struct StatBufferElement : IBufferElementData
    {
    public int StatType;
    public float Value;
    }

monsterArchetype = entityManager.CreateArchetype(typeof(Monster), typeof(StatBufferElement));

With this I can get the Stat Value something like this:

private float GetStatValue(Entity fromEntity, int statType)
    {
    DynamicBuffer<StatBufferElement> stats = entityManager.GetBuffer<StatBufferElement>(fromEntity);
    for (int i = 0; i < stats.Length; i++)
    {
    if (stats[i].StatType == statType)
    {
    return stats[i].Value;
    }
    }
    return 0;
    }

But what if I want to have a function to get the actual StatBufferElement itself, so that I can modify the Value? Can I somehow get a reference to the StatBufferElement so I can modify it?

I feel like I want to be able to do something like this:

private StatBufferElement GetStat(Entity fromEntity, int statType)
    {
    DynamicBuffer<StatBufferElement> stats = entityManager.GetBuffer<StatBufferElement>(fromEntity);
    for (int i = 0; i < stats.Length; i++)
    {
    if (stats[i].StatType == statType)
    {
    return stats[i];
    }
    }
    return some sort of null struct??;
    }

StatBufferElement stat = GetStat(aMonsterEntity, healthStatType);