Search Unity

New Zealand e-fellow Project

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Arturio, Nov 30, 2006.

1. Arturio

Arturio

I am very pleased to announce that Unity have agreed to support my New Zealand based education research project for 2007.

I have been awarded an e-fellowship for 2007, which means I have a years release from teaching at Hagley Community College in Christchurch, in order to conduct a research project into 3d gaming in schools (with embedded learning objectives).

I have been teaching Maya for several years here to Senior Secondary school students (age 17+) and we are now introducing a Game design course for 2007. Students will help build the game and the evaluations will occur in other classrooms.

The project will be based around a New Zealand history strand in the curriculum, focusing on the Gallipoli Campaign of 1915 where the acronym ANZAC became popular.

The research project starts in January 2007 and will also involve Canterbury University as another project partner.

Unity will be our Game Engine of choice...

so a very big Thank You to Unity for your support... and I look forward to a great year next year...

-Regards

Gavin Hewitt

2. AaronC

AaronC

Gavin is my tutor and a good one at that. Using Unity from scratch this year has been a buzz, to the point that I brought a copy myself. This project is going to Rock, and hopefully It opens up job opportunities for myself and others, as well as establishing Christchurch (it's a place not some kind of extremist religious camp) and Hagley College as a kind of brain for game development.

This is all seriously fantastic stuff. I cant wait.
    AC

3. MattThomas

MattThomas

Hey Gavin and AC -

I am just starting to look into Unity this summer holidays, and have been pretty stoked so far. Just out of interest, how did the E-Fellowship go? Are you going to publish your experience in Computers in NZ Schools?

Cheers, MattThomas

4. AaronC

AaronC