Search Unity

New Update Unity2017.3.0b4

Discussion in 'VR' started by ITALIANI, Oct 16, 2017.

  1. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Hi, :)
    I have a problem with the new Update of Unity(2017.3.0b4).
    When I tried to compile my project, the build fails.
    upload_2017-10-16_17-47-59.png

    I did some tests and it's the hololens input (scripts) in my eventsystem who created the error
    I don't know how can I fix that !

    Thanks,

    Mattéo
     
  2. JasonCostanza

    JasonCostanza

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    404
    Hello Italiani,

    Sorry for the trouble, this is definitely a bug. We happen to already be aware of this bug and our developers are already aware of it. Though the bug is not publicly accessible, it is something we're looking into. I can try to remember to update this thread when it's fixed, but currently I don't have an estimate when that will be.
     
  3. JasonCostanza

    JasonCostanza

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    404
    I forgot to mention, you should be able to build successfully by switching to .Net for now. This seems to only affect IL2CPP scripting backend builds.
     
  4. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Thanks for your answer.

    The build succeeds but when I launched the app on the hololens. I didn't see my Canvas with the UI Object.
    In the editor, I see my canvas with UI elements.

    upload_2017-10-17_9-18-56.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2017
  5. JasonCostanza

    JasonCostanza

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    404
    Check that your canvas is on "World Space". Select it in the hierarchy and check in the Inspector panel, there is a "Render Mode" setting.
     
  6. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Yes, my canvas is on "World Space" in the "Render Mode" setting.

    upload_2017-10-18_8-32-57.png

    When I launched with the editor unity, the canvas works. But with the build, it's an other history.
    A wrong setting to make my build , maybe ?

    upload_2017-10-18_8-35-43.png

    Thanks for your help !
     
  7. JasonCostanza

    JasonCostanza

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    404
    Interesting. Looking at the inspector panel your canvas is very large. Maybe try reducing the size and tagalong distance to see if that makes it visible, I'm hoping it's there but so big it's not being shown in the HoloLens.

    If that doesn't work, private message me a minimum repro project and we'd be happy to take a closer look to narrow down if it's a bug or something we can help you solve.
     
  8. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    Thx I will test that ! :)
     
  9. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    I solved my problem. I disable Simple Tagalong Script and box collider. Maybe that now my script don't find my main camera.

    I updated my Unity b4 to Unity b5
     
  10. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    It's strange, my panel it's always behind me (I activated Simple Tagalong Script and Box collider)
    I use the CalculateFrustumPlanes func, maybe that ?
     
  11. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    I solved the problem, i don't use "GeometryUtility.TestPlanesAABB(_frustumPlanes, _tagalongCollider.bounds);" to know if my canvas is in the frustum camera but
    "
    bool moveRight = _frustumPlanes[_frustumLeft].GetDistanceToPoint(fromPosition) < 0;
    bool moveLeft = _frustumPlanes[_frustumRight].GetDistanceToPoint(fromPosition) < 0;
    bool moveDown = _frustumPlanes[_frustumTop].GetDistanceToPoint(fromPosition) < 0;
    bool moveUp = _frustumPlanes[_frustumBottom].GetDistanceToPoint(fromPosition) < 0;"
     
  12. ITALIANI

    ITALIANI

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2017
    Posts:
    27
    center variable, in BoxCollider, doesn't want to set.
    "_collider.center = vec;"
     
  13. JasonCostanza

    JasonCostanza

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 23, 2017
    Posts:
    404
    Ah, glad you got it working. Let us know if you run into any other problems.