Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We have updated the language to the Editor Terms based on feedback from our employees and community. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

New to unity

Discussion in 'Windows' started by benlawdavis, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. benlawdavis

    benlawdavis

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Hello all I am new to unity and I develop for the windows platform. I created an empty test project with a flat terrain and a point light just to see how the build process works.

    The problem is whenever I output a windows store app with Xaml it says hashtable not found in mscorelib. When outputting to d3d11 it says development build in the bottom right hand corner.

    I am not sure how to fix either of these issues, any thoughts? Oh and I am using unity 4.2 now
     
  2. BFS-Kyle

    BFS-Kyle

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    882
    For the hashtable issue, Windows store and Windows Phone 8 apps do not support Hashtables, among other classes (ArrayList, some encryption classes etc). There are alternatives for them all, but basically you have to change any use of a Hashtable in your code to a Dictionary<string, object>.

    As for the second issue - the development build, I think that is because in Visual Studio you are doing a debug build, not a release build. Try changing this in Visual Studio and see if the Development build goes away.

    -Kyle
     
  3. benlawdavis

    benlawdavis

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    You were spot on for the second issue the development issue but as for the first issue when I made an empty project with just a terrain, I had no code at all. I only get the issue when I try to build as a Xaml application
     
  4. BFS-Kyle

    BFS-Kyle

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    882
    Hmm thats interesting, an empty project shouldnt have any issues. Where and when are you seeing the error? Is it in Unity all the time, or in Unity when you hit Build, or in Visual studio somewhere?
     
  5. benlawdavis

    benlawdavis

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    I only see the issue in visual studio when I try to build a c# xaml, I have tried the others and they work fine I still haven't tried the c++ xaml app
     
  6. arosendal

    arosendal

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    the hashtable comes from your solution references, just remove the Boo.Language dll and it will work