Search Unity

New to Unity. What is slowing this down?

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by Patrick234, Jul 1, 2014.

1. Patrick234

Patrick234

Hi,

Thanks for reading this topic! Im new to unity and i have (probably) run into a newbie problem. I have over 9000 drawcalls!

First off, I will be using Unity because of 4 reasons:
    - iOS support (50/50 focus for me) other 50 is Windows,Mac etc..
    - Easy support for advanced graphics
    - Great Asset store and active communty
    - C# is easypease for me > small learning curve

I used to make games for fun in another language but was limited to DirectX7!! had to write all filters myself, and advanced lighting just wasn't possible. Etc..

Therefore, im ramping my first game project full with visual goodies, been itching todo this for some time. Its all about visuals and dynamics for this one. However, I need to learn how todo it properly and professionaly with the needed tricks and optimizations. Eventualy im hoping to make a optimized version for iOS this is defently a goal on the list. But would love to unleash the full potential for PC users.

Currently i got this;

Heres a download if you want to play arround;
    http://www.filedropper.com/teest

Im using the Unity PRO Trail i have 28 or 29 days left.

My current FPS on my (budget-grade game pc @ $500) is a miserable 30FPS.
    (p.s. Lightmapping is no option! It has to be dynamic because of its procedural nature.)

-Patrick

Last edited: Jul 1, 2014
  2. Patrick234

Patrick234

Well i never expected to solve this. I done some more testing and figured out that it is each individual mesh, or surface rather, that needs a drawcall when using dynamic lights and shadows. So i had a level with even twice the amount of verticies and faces run at only 20+ drawcalls!

Then i did some math
    2 calls per simple object * 64 * 64 tiles = 8192 + The light-stones + Characters = 9000+