Search Unity

New to Unity - should I start using DOTS or should I learn basic Unity first?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Gumaa, Jul 28, 2021.

?

Should I start using DOTS or should I learn basic Unity first?

1. Learn basic Unity

53 vote(s)
    88.3%
  2. Go for DOTS

7 vote(s)
    11.7%
  1. Gumaa

Gumaa

I would like to try to make a game and I think performance gain of using DOTS will be very beneficial for my project. But other than watching couple of YT videos and following tutorials I'm fairly new to Unity and never made an actual game from scratch.

So I'm curious - is it good idea to jump right into DOTS without learning the basics and getting somewhat competent in Unity?

I wonder is it better to start with clean slate and start working with this different approach from the beginning or is it pretty much required to be competent in Unity before going into more advanced stuff?
    Or even if it is not strictly required does lack of tutorials and documentation could be an issue for a beginner?
    Or maybe this feature isn't ready to be used in actual game and it is only for poking around?

I'm really eager to try it but don't want to step on a mine right from the beginning.

Currently I'm software engineer (mostly full stack webdev) so I have some programming background but not so much in C#.

2. No. If you're new to either Unity or C#, it's a good idea to learn classic game objects first. For DOTS you would need to actually develop a lot of things for yourself since the support systems aren't there yet.

3. Krajca

Krajca

But why learning OOP paradigm when you don't need it? Assuming DOTS is your target. You can learn to do stuff in DOTS from the beginning.

4. He mentioned he is a full stack webdev, he probably knows the OOP paradigm already.