Search Unity

Question New to Unity - Need Login Advice for Single Player Game

Discussion in 'Authentication' started by rrosay, Aug 29, 2022.

1. rrosay

rrosay

Hello all, as the title suggests I am new to Unity. I have undertaken a project where I would like to provide a single player, "dungeon crawling" experience to players.

The "login" system as I have planned it will just be access codes that are generated on the backend using uuid4(), which are emailed to players whenever they have a new dungeon available to crawl via Sendgrid.

My questions are about creating a secure login system in Unity. I've watched YouTube videos on the subject that make it seem like all I need is a server with a database and PHP scripts on the backend and a WWW form in Unity. So my questions are as follows:

1. If I were to go the aforementioned route, is that really all I need? Should I run the server somewhere like Linode? AWS? I have servers at home; so I could just host an Apache webserver and connect to it inside of Unity's WWW form.
    2. Is the above the best way to set up a system to handle login? Would a REST API be better? Or even viable at all?
    3. How can I make the login system as secure as possible? I've never worked with PHP, so when I see in the WWW form examples raw strings of server URLs I don't know how to react. If I'm hosting the web server from my home, should I create an SSL certificate and tuck the server away in a VLAN? Do I need a static IP separate from my current home public IP?

As of writing this thread, my plan is to use my at-home server to host a Postgres database, Docker images handling ETL, and a PHP script suite. I will try to create a free SSL certificate with Cloudflare for this webserver as well. I will host the game using a domain provided by Google. Client to server communication will be WWW forms.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I appreciate any feedback you have!

2. elseforty

elseforty

Hi,