Search Unity

New to Unity, need guidance on where to start for my project.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by UnbridledGames, May 12, 2020.

1. UnbridledGames

UnbridledGames

Hi all. Totally new to Unity and mobile app development. I've 20+ years of programming experience in various languages, none of my experience has ever touched on anything graphical other than designing HTML forms/menus/etc. Database connections, web apps, arduino/pi robotics, bluetooth connected gadgets, comfortable with all of that. Making a menu appear on an iPhone when you click an icon? Absolutely no idea.

I'm working on an app thats tied into a live/real world game. The exact details aren't super important, but what the app needs to do is mostly display information. Multiple screens/tabs of textual data, with links that when clicked/tapped activate scripts/functions. Open the menu, pull up your character info. From there, click the skills tab and get a list of skills. Maybe click a skill to "activate" it, and a function is called.

Why an app instead of a webpage? Because two of the more advanced options the app will perform deal with location based mapping in real-time, and an AR system. I could get away with a web app for the location stuff, but for actual AR, thats out of the question.

Why Unity? Because I need something that will run on both iOS and Android, and I've heard great things on Unity's ability to be a code once, deploy anywhere solution. I've also seen some great Unity plugins for dealing with location, mapping, and AR, which should really cut down on the learning curve.