Search Unity

New to unity/animation, have small brain.

Discussion in 'Animation' started by AeunaSuva, Dec 20, 2021.

1. AeunaSuva

AeunaSuva

Hello, im relatively new to unity and found myself stuck while learning animations. i started a little project to modify a model in a game so it could use their animations system to let me use external tools to control the position of most of the bones of the character while in game (for poses/screenshots and such) relatively small project as theirs already open source tools for this. my only issue is setting up the animations themselves. i have 0 experience animating in unity and this is my first attempt at doing so. all tutorials i see online have buttons that are/arent there on my unity and ive been stumped for about a week on this and reset the project 4 times now due to having too many errors.
    im starting with the eyes/blinking since thats only 1d
    been a week and ive made 0 progress.
    this is what its asking me to do.

In the Layers tab in your FX Object, add animation layers corresponding to all the eye controls you want to add. For example, add the following layers:

• Left Eye Movement

• Right Eye Movement

• Left Eye Blink

• Right Eye Blink

• Pupil Dilation

• Eyes Widen
    You can also control both eyes together, which this guide will do for blinking.

Set the layers' weight to 1

this ive done, its simple enough.
    but then this i got stuck on for a few reasons.

This guide will setup blinking on both eyes by controlling it with just the left one. You can instead repeat the below commands for just left/right eyes to do independent blinking, or use it as the basis of dynamically linking/unlinking the eyes using a gesture or control.

1. Create two new animations: anim_blink and anim_unblink. These animations should control the blendshape(s) or the bones to fully blink/unblink your avatar's eyes