Search Unity

1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

New to Unity and the community!

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by MushroomCake28, Sep 5, 2019.

1. MushroomCake28

MushroomCake28

Hello everyone! My name is Alex, but I'm known online as MushroomCake28 (especially in other communities) or Kamo Studio. I've been a game developer for a like 4-5 years, but I've never used Unity before. I was only playing around with smaller 2D engines, but in my defense I was recoding everything from scratch (yes I know, the naivety of young coders trying to recode everything).

I'm a coder, but I'm no software engineer expert lol. I'm also a music composer, a skill in which I'm much more confident. I compose mostly orchestral tracks with a classical/film music genre. I've been doing commissions in other communities, so maybe I'll also do the same in this community (is there even a commission section on this forum?). I can also do some 3D modeling, but I'm not so good at it, and it's been a LONG time since I last did some modeling in blender.

If you're interested in some tracks I composed, here's a battle theme for one of my games:

So I released a game recently, so I thought it would be time for me to graduate and move with the big guys. I want to create a 3D single player RPG game with Unity, so that's why I'm joining this community. I'm pretty new here, so I'd be grateful for some tips from you guys:
    1. I'm already a coder (coded a couple of games already), so what would be the best way for me to learn the Unity framework? Any tutorials for programmers (those beginners tutorials that start off at like "what is an integer" are really slow and long...)?
    2. I followed the unity news and came across the Unity's coding revamp (ECS, multi-threading, etc.). Are old tutorials still valid?
    3. Any general tips regarding developing with Unity?
    4. Also side note, is there a commission section on this forum?