Search Unity

New to UNET - Question about syncing complex player data

Discussion in 'UNet' started by LootlabGames, Feb 8, 2018.

1. LootlabGames

LootlabGames

I have been working on my game for about 6 years now(man time flies).

I have decided I would like to try to add coop(Just 2 players).
    It is a ARPG type game with many different items(randomly generated).

There are a few different data types that can be used on players.
    Two of them are effect's and condition's.
    Also condition's can contain 1 to many effects.

One type of item that exists in the game is a potion.
    Potions can contain either an effect or a condition(or both).

Scenario 1
    You(player A) throw a potion and it hits player B.
    The potion applies a condition that contains an effect that will decrease their strength for 5 minutes.
    The amount of strength decreased and the duration was created randomly when the potion was created.

For this to happen player A would need to have the information about the potions(and the potions condition, and the condition's effect(s)) on player B's machine correct?

Should the information about the potion and the potions condition be sent when player B's is hit, or should a inventory be replicated on all clients?

If not what is the suggested method?

P.S.
    I have searched the forums and read a lot about the subject.
    But I'm still not getting a good answer since most of them were not using complex objects.

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Instead of Player A and Player B, think of things as game Host (server) and Client. The Host is generally where you would apply any effects, and you would update any changes relevant to the client using the various methods available for that (ClientRpc, TargetRpc, SyncVar, Messages, etc).