Search Unity

New script error

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by V1p3r_1966, Jun 23, 2020.

1. V1p3r_1966

V1p3r_1966

Why is this happening? I am just starting to learn how to do this stuff and I go to open up the script to start creating it and it won’t let me. Can someone just tell me what is happening and how to fix it?

Attached Files:

2. DaDonik

DaDonik

What are your computer specs?
    That error is related to your computer and i assume it is too old to run Unity.

3. V1p3r_1966

V1p3r_1966

I have a Hp compaq dc7800p(small form factor) with a 3.2 GHZ quad core, 8gb of ram, a external hard drive with a terrorbite of storage, and a GeForce GT 1030.

Last edited: Jun 23, 2020
  4. V1p3r_1966

V1p3r_1966

I uninstalled the newest version and installed unity 2018.4.23. I also downloaded visual studio 2017 and not I got no error and it works fine.

5. DaDonik

DaDonik

That error sounds like it had issues reading something, probably from your external HDD if you have Unity or your project on that external drive.

That PC is barely able to run Unity, especially that 1030. The editor will squeeze every last bit out of it.
    Unity updates the scene view as fast as your hardware can, so it might get hot in that small case.
    Anyways, if things get slow, you know that it's mostly down to that graphics card and the lack of an SSD.

6. V1p3r_1966

V1p3r_1966

Okay. Thank you for telling me that.

7. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

For the error reported, I would be looking at a storage issue first and also test your computer's memory. I/O issues seem to pop up in threads where the person is using USB external storage, and I don't think that is some kind of coincidence. I'd try first thing creating a new project on your internal HDD/SSD and seeing if you run into issues there.