Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020 LTS & Unity 2021.1 have been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[New Release] FM POINTS: Capture Point Cloud, Morph, Dynamic FX (iOS/Android/Mac/PC/WebGL/AR/VR)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by thelghome, Feb 15, 2020.

  1. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    FM POINTS is an All-in-One Point Cloud Visualisation within Unity3D. Every 3D objects in your Unity3D scenes can be converted into points in few buttons!
    It's a light-weight rendering solution in comparison to traditional particle effects.
    You may try our WebGL Demo: https://frozenmistadventure.github.io/demofmpoints/
    Asset Store: http://u3d.as/1Lsb

    BAKE : convert Unity3D world into point cloud
    MORPH : Blend point cloud meshes(real time)
    STYLE : Artistic Brush Style (New Experimental in v1.03)
    DYNAMIC : Wind force FX simulation
    SHADER : Unlit & Lambert with Lightings
    DATA : PLY importer supported (experimental)

    Compatibility : iOS/Android/MAC/PC/VR/AR/WebGL
    It can run smoothly on iPhone 5 (Mobile Web Browser)

    CoverPhoto_PS.png FMPOINTS_BrushesScreenshots.png FM_Points_PromotionPage002.png





     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2020
  2. LukeDJ

    LukeDJ

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    This looks great!
     
  3. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    thanks, we are still waiting for approval from asset store.
    Some new features related to dynamic behaviour are working in progress too. We will upload more demos later once it's been published.

    PS: please feel free to check out our other Assets.
    https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/41989
     
  4. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    I am glad to tell everyone that FM Points v1.0 is available on Asset Store finally!
    However, we've already submitted a very cool update as v1.01, which should be ready once approved.
    Let's point out those cool features here.

    [v1.01] updates(submitted, will be ready soon)
    [New!] Dynamic Wind FX Simulation
    [New!] Shaders: Unlit & Lambert with Lightings
    Compatibility: tested on few mobiles & macbook only, we will do further test later.

     
  5. Fuzzinator

    Fuzzinator

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Does this support HDRP or URP?
     
  6. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    I just tested on HDRP for your concerns.
    The good news is that the shader rendering does work. please see below screenshot.
    The point cloud baking is not fully supported on HDRP in current version, but I've the idea of how to solve it later.
    Screenshot 2020-03-04 at 9.57.25 PM.png
    Screenshot 2020-03-04 at 9.33.27 PM.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2020
    Fuzzinator likes this.
  7. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    [version 1.02] updated
    -PLY importer supported (experimental)
    You can import ".ply" file now, and you can still create your own point cloud data directly from Unity3D scene.
     
  8. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    We are glad to share an art experiment done by our developer.
     
  9. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
  10. flying_taiwan

    flying_taiwan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Can I use my own pointcloud file to morph? without using FMPC Manager to capture new pointcloud file...
     
  11. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Yes, it's possible. the required format is "ply" in current version.
     
  12. flying_taiwan

    flying_taiwan

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    can you show me how to use the ply importer?
     
    nanotopia likes this.
  13. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Once your ply file is located in the Asset folder of your project, it will automatically detect and generate the mesh.
    Then, you can assign the mesh object to Morph Generator for the effect.
     
  14. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2020
  15. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Let's do an experiment on iPhone 5 WebGL with FM POINTS!
     
  16. Tiago-Moraes

    Tiago-Moraes

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hi Thelghome, congrats, looks awesome and with a nice performance in mobile devices.

    Can I use FM Points just for runtime point cloud render without Bake every object in the scene?

    Tks
     
  17. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Interesting use case, it's possible but not in current version.
    It was runtime without saving files in our first beta, and we spent lots of effort to save data correctly. seems we are going wrong direction, haha!

    We could customise a runtime(no save, but still need to bake) version, if this is helpful for your project.
     
  18. Gnistregn

    Gnistregn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Can't seem to get point size to work. I've tried multiple clean projects in different versions (2019.3, 2019.1, 2018.3, etc.) and no matter what I do, changing settings in the FMPC Helper does nothing. Wind effects and such are working, however.
     
  19. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    You may need to change your Graphic APIs to OpenGL/Metal for the effect of point size. The setting is under Player Settings.
    Or, you can use BrushFX mode render(runtime), which supports any Graphic APIs.
     
  20. Gnistregn

    Gnistregn

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    That did the trick, thank you.
     
  21. benflock

    benflock

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    Hi - just bough your plugin - enjoying it - point lights and spotlights however seem to create square patches of light with very clean harsh edges when using the lambert mode - is there any way around this? thanks

    b
     
  22. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Thanks for reporting this issue to us. Could you please send us screenshots of the issue via email?

    We will check the shaders asap.
    Technical support: thelghome@gmail.com
     
  23. benflock

    benflock

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Posts:
    24
    will do - also just to confirm - does the lambert mode work with urp or is it only unlit that does?

    thanks

    best

    ben
     
  24. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    In current version, Lambert mode is probably not supported on render pipeline yet. As it’s more popular nowadays, we will surely spend more effort on render pipeline support.
     
  25. GSO_GT

    GSO_GT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Posts:
    17
    Hello, can I also check if the plugin does point cloud import into Unity Web Player, and also the conversion from point cloud to mesh.

    Thank you so much!
     
  26. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Yes, Unity WebGL build is compatible. You can also try it yourself, this is our demo WebGL build.
    https://frozenmistadventure.github.io/demofmpoints/
    ref:


    This tool is for mesh to points. In brush mode display, all points will be in mesh form and generated in runtime.
    However, it's not the traditional way of mesh re-construction from points.
    Hope it can give you idea.
     
  27. GSO_GT

    GSO_GT

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2019
    Posts:
    17
    Correct me if i am wrong, so this plugin allows:
    1. Import of point cloud data
    2. Conversion of 3d mesh to point cloud

    But it is unable to do point cloud to 3d mesh conversion?
     
  28. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    correct, it's a tool for generating point cloud, and visualisation of point cloud in point & brush mode.
    If you are looking for mesh conversion, you may refer to some popular software like "MeshLab", or "CloudCompare".
     
  29. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    154
    Hi, I wonder if you can use the the animation from the original mesh on the converted mesh?
     
  30. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    In current version, the dynamic simulation is based on a baked mesh instead of skinned mesh.
    the baked mesh can still be movable, without skinned mesh info.
     
  31. halagame

    halagame

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    12
    Hi, great asset, one question, what's the difference between that 3 mode, scene, object, manual, any detailed doc for that? the reason that I'm asking is that I thought the "object" mode will only generate the mesh gameobject that I selected in the "Target" field. However, after capture, it still pointcloud the whole scene. So maybe I'm missing something? tks
     
  32. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    it’s correct behaviour. It is different way of capturing. The tool is for generating points, not for creating mesh/polygon.

    hope this can solve your concerns.
     
  33. halagame

    halagame

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    12
    I kinda figured out that is the correct behavior, but my question is that what exactly the difference between object and scene capture?
     
  34. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    It has different paths for the capture.
    Object capture is targeting small object, the virtual cam will take different shots surrounding the target position.
    Scene capture is simply looking around instead.
     
  35. halagame

    halagame

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    12
    tks for the reply, now I understand the logic.
    Another question, say if I want to make those tiny points glow, in general, where should I start? should I modify the FMPCD shaders, tks
     
  36. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Awesome, if you are familiar with basic shader code, you can modify our shaders for specific effect.
    It's very straightforward.
     
  37. halagame

    halagame

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    12
    I have found out putting a light to the point cloud can mimic the glowing part :) great asset!!
    However, I don't know anything about the shader at this point, is it possible to ask you to add transparency effect to the current shader? I really like to make some vanishing effect based on the point clouds to fades out. tks
     
  38. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    I think you can have transparent effect with Unlit shader. However, only lambert shader can receive light at the moment.
    Screenshot 2020-11-28 at 5.35.28 PM.png
     
  39. halagame

    halagame

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2020
    Posts:
    12
    wow, that was indeed a quick response, thank you! wish you have a great holiday.
    Yes I'm using the lambertFX shader, what I'm trying to achieve is to have the cloud points vanished after a given time, setting the alpha channel to the color to the current lambertFX doesn't work. The only way that I can turn the points invisible is to disable the gameobject completely, but that doesn't work obviously :(
     
  40. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Ah, please no worries and write us an email to: thelghome@gmail.com
    I could send you a customised shader for your urgent need.
     
  41. ANIMA-LT

    ANIMA-LT

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    17
    Hi,looks great but somewhy it doesn't works for me. In unity editor point size dosent change. WEBgl is not exporting corectly. ( tyluskinas.lt/test/3d/Dirba/ ). Maybe i nead something to do? i will try to make it work tomorow...
     
  42. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    For point size:
    Please go to Player Settings, and change the Graphic API from DX11/12 to OpenGL or others.
    As the size variables in shader may not work properly with DirectX Graphic API.

    WebGL Build:
    What's the error?
     
  43. Gruguir

    Gruguir

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Posts:
    334
    Hi, does it support Amplify Shader Editor or are there any plans?
     
  44. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    Unfortunately, it's customised shaders. It's incompatible with shader editor at the moment.
     
  45. Dmitry-Kuz

    Dmitry-Kuz

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    4
    Hi team, I was wondering if it would be possible to use your asset to export List<Vector3> and List<Color> to .ply?
     
  46. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    We have option of saving ".ply" which includes position, normals and color data.
     
  47. WhiteHeatEmmanuel

    WhiteHeatEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    This looks awesome! Just wondering is it possible to change the point number? I mean change the point cloud density?
     
  48. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    You can’t change it in runtime. You can only adjust the density during the capture/baking in game.

    if you have external ply files, you can still use third party tools like CloudCompare to resample the points in lower density.
     
  49. WhiteHeatEmmanuel

    WhiteHeatEmmanuel

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks but my question is can I input a certain point number like 100 for the density? I think you did the density adjustment in video with the 'remove points by minimum distance', but can i control the number of the points?
     
  50. thelghome

    thelghome

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2016
    Posts:
    334
    The alternative will be adjusting your Game View resolution, as our sample rate is relative to screen resolution too.

    However, we don’t have target point count variables during the capture.
     
unityunity