Search Unity

Question New Mesh.SetVertices vs. Old Mesh.vertices - array versus list and mobile performance

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by bigpants, Jan 24, 2023.

1. bigpants

bigpants

I am an expert at using "Mesh.vertices = MyArray".
    I'm switching to "Mesh.SetVertices(MyArray)" and I'm concerned about mobile performance.
    I'm currently unable to test on mobile, which is why I'm posting here.

Question 1
    On mobile, is there a difference in performance between passing an array "Vector3[]" or a list "List<Vector3>" to Mesh.SetVertices? I thought array would be best BUT Mesh.GetVertices returns a list, implying list is the way to go. Ideally I'd like to switch to "List<Vector3>" but not if it costs performance. I'm doing a significant amount of procedural generation, so this is important to me.

Question 2
    On older mobile, using "Mesh.vertices = MyArray",
    the size of MyArray mattered EVEN if there was nothing in it.
    Example:
    If I wanted to render 100 cubes, I would need to pass in an array perfectly sized to 100 cubes.
    Using an array of 200 cubes, with the last 100 zeroed out, would render perfectly BUT perform poorly.

I'm ASSUMING Mesh.SetVertices FINALLY SOLVES this problem
    (since it can be passed the length of the array/list) BUT is that true?
    Specifically, on mobile, if MyArray contains 200 elements,
    does "Mesh.SetVertices(MyArray, 0, 100)"
    perform as well as "Mesh.vertices = Array-of-JUST-100-Elements"?

Thankyou!

2. DevDunk

DevDunk

Answer 1:
    Use the profiler, the only way to find out how performance heavy something is for your specific usecase. Differences on PC (especially when testing in builds) should be the same on mobile (but with different performance tiers of course). You could even use a nativearray.
    It also depends on how you generate objects. If you use a list for that, use that. Calling ToArray each time would probably be worse performance.

Answer 2: