Search Unity

New Input System problem - RX2SIM Game Controller: Every second frame is zero

Discussion in 'Input System' started by zulu79, Apr 19, 2020.

1. zulu79

zulu79

Hello,

I am new to Unity and I wanted to test the new input system, because the user should be able to select from an input device, if multiple are connected, what I couldn't figure out in the old system.

For some reason the new input system sets for my device - RX2SIM Game Controller - in every second frame almost all axis values to zero. What might be the reason for this? The RX2SIM Game Controller works with the old input system and other programs without issues. My second device, an old Sony Gamepad works also without problems. System is Windows 10 + Unity 2019.3.2f1, 2020.2.0a7 + Input System Version 1.0.0-preview.7

I overwritten in a test the HID Fallback, according to this HID Support page, but so far without success. Maybe I should focus on this?

Any help would be appreciated.

Unity_NewInputSystem_Problem.png

2. zulu79

zulu79

The problem seems to be, that my device sends not all information in one frame, but in two successive. The two frames are marked, i think, by the "Report ID", as shown in the HID Descriptor. I guess, that Unity does not understand, that the 8 axis channels + 8 buttons are not sent in one frame, but in two.

- Axis 0..3 in first frame
    - Axis 4..7 and 8 buttons in second frame

Therefore Unity's interpreted signals are changing every output frame between the values of the two data frames.

Other devices (see blue marked one in figure as example), which send all information in one frame are working normally.

Is there a way to say Unity to take the Report ID into account, or maybe another solution?

Unity_NewInputSystem_Problem_002.png

Raw data test
    Unity_NewInputSystem_Problem_003.png

3. Rene-Damm

Rene-Damm

The existing HID support is indeed ill-equipped to handle this automatically. ATM it only works with a single report format.