Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

new here, opinions please

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by DraneDC5, Mar 19, 2015.

1. DraneDC5

DraneDC5

How guys doing? I'm new here just wanted to say what's up and to get some opinions. I'm new to programming, I've done minor stuff but basically learning from scratch but I am ambitious and determined to make this my new hobby. Should I start off with unity documentation,tutorials on unity, or tutorials on a certain language (thinking either android java code or c#) I know I have a long road ahead but I am willing to do this so any input aappreciated. Thanks

randomperson42 likes this.
  2. randomperson42

randomperson42

Start here:
    http://unity3d.com/learn

Begin with small games, finish them, don't try to make something huge until you've developed your skill.

NomadKing, Ryiah and Hoegbo like this.
  3. Schneider21

Schneider21

Absolutely start with the official tutorials as randomperson42 said. One of the best things you can do long-term though is to learn to write code. Most people here prefer C#. I'll say no more on the subject than that. :rolleyes:

Dive in and start moving balls around, adding cool lighting effects, and getting objects to bash into each other believably. Download Blender (free) and learn how to make your own geometry. Browse the asset store for free assets and play with them. When your projects become too muddy, throw them away and start a new one.

Then try to come up with the most basic idea you for a game you can, and see how far you can get with it. If you think it's terrible, start fresh and try again. And of course, if you have questions, feel free to ask.

Ryiah, Not_Sure and Hoegbo like this.
  4. Not_Sure

Not_Sure

Go with C#.

JS is a dying breed and it's not really java, it's Unityscript which is only used in Unity.