Search Unity

NEW Genesis 3D Engine / Unity's RIP OFF!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JackyNorris, Nov 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JackyNorris

JackyNorris

Hey guys,

My name is Jacky, I am currently a student in game design. For the past few months I have been researching different game engines for a school project that I'm working on. Recently I came upon a game engine called Genesis3D and I feel I should come to the forums and let people know more about it because it seems to be one of the biggest rip offs I have seen in a while
    Here is their website:

http://www.genesis-3d.com.cn/index.html

I have downloaded Genesis3D and I have found that is strikingly similar to Unity:eek:. The UI, the choice of color, navigation, materials, etc... everything seems like a copy of Unity. Strangely, the top toolbar and some of the icons appear to be of those also found in Crytek as well.

I have also included a screen shot of both engines compared side by side
    [ $Genesis_screenShot.jpg

Also there is a link to download their engine if anyone to corroborate what I found:

http://www.genesis-3d.com.cn/download.html

The company that "developed" this engine seems to be Chinese. I decided to do some more research on this engine and I also found another game engine called Genesis3D, which appears to be the real deal:eek:

http://www.genesis3d.com/

Last edited: Nov 22, 2013
    Rodolfo-Rubens likes this.
  2. Paparakas

Paparakas

If your claims are true, then that's infuriating. Good find! This would definitely be an interesting assessment.

3. JackyNorris

JackyNorris

Yeah... and it seems like they went out as far as releasing it as Open source. I just researched a bit more and it looks like they are having a public release. Check the comparison of both engines too!:eek:

$Genesis_screenShot.jpg
    $Genesis3d_release_01.jpg

4. dxcam1

dxcam1

It's not gonna get any ground outside of china so it doesn't matter.