Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

New animated feature film made in Unity "M Doll"

Discussion in 'Virtual Production' started by imaginationrabbit, Nov 17, 2020.

1. imaginationrabbit

imaginationrabbit

Hello- I'm an experienced professional animation filmmaker- One of my feature films did Sundance and won awards and all that so I'm in no way new to film making.

I also make games and know Unity very well. Here's a recent game I made that makes animations.

Anyhow, I'm making a new feature film in Unity called "M Doll" that will be completed in a few months.

Here's a test clip to get an idea on what it will look/sound/feel like.

Here's the making of site if you want to follow along. I do my best to share the process to help others make their own films with Unity.

I'm making the film alone so you'll get the perspective of the smallest studio possible making a full length animated film in Unity with a budget of under $1000 usd.

Here's my three other animated feature films so you can see that I've done this before :) I must say that through leveraging the power of Unity and what is available on the asset store, this will be my best looking and best animated film yet.

If you have any questions about how I'm making this film in Unity etc please feel free to post your questions here. Thanks!

kevinwheel and newguy123 like this.
  2. imaginationrabbit

imaginationrabbit

Another reason to use Slate as your cutscene editor is that the source is included-

I extended the CameraShot class so now I can control the Depth Of Field, Bloom, Color Grading, lens distortion on a SHOT BY SHOT basis inside Slate without messing with Overrides or multiple Post effect volumes etc-

I also extended the Depth of field controls so I can use a gameObject as a target to always be in focus like a super camera man :)