Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Networking with Lerping positions

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by jackywaiholeung, Oct 16, 2020.

1. jackywaiholeung

jackywaiholeung

Hiya,

I've been learning Unity and websocket programming myself in my spare time so I'm quite new to all of this.

I've been writing LAN multiplayer game which is authoritative based using a custom UDP messaging framework; I've a few issues which I'm not sure what is the correct approach to take. With authoritative games both the client and the server runs the same logic to process inputs from the clients and they derive the character's position.

After some much needed unit testing I found out that the way I lerp the character's position causes the simulation on the client and server have different end positions due to calculating the new position based on the character's current position rather than the end position of the lerp. So depending on when the server receives the next input the position of that client's character would appear to overshoot on the server side.

Now if on the client side I ignore the inputs until the character reaches its target lerp position then the input controls will feel less responsive and movement may look less smooth like when the character turns around.

Any ideas on how I can address this?

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored