Search Unity

Question Networking library for API built with PHP?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Sachem1000, Jun 6, 2023.

1. Sachem1000

Sachem1000

Hello

Some background:
    I am working on a 2D multiplayer MMORPG game (top-down graphics). Because I am a web developer with 15 years of experience (and I built similar game in the past for web) I started building this new game with Angular/Ionic/Capacitor (front-end stack that allow to compile/release for the Web, Android and iOS) and PHP/Laravel + NodeJS for the back-end API.
    The project is in quite advanced stage already - amongst other things I have the networking part almost ready, but more about it in a sec.

Now comes the tricky part ;)
    Few months now I found out about Unity and fell in love with it!
    So my idea now is to rebuild the front-end with Unity to make the game more appealing.
    At the same time I do not want to throw all my hard work away so I would love to keep the API as I have it and communicate with it from Unity.

To give you some details about how I plan to communicate with the back-end (MySQL + Redis):
    1) HTTP requests for things like:
    - loading location data with GET, when player visits them
    - sending a POST when user crafts an item or buys something from the shop
    etc.
    2) WebSocket communication (via NodeJS) only for:
    - sending move requests
    - syncing/displaying other players on the map, as they move

The game will be a crafting / mining / trading focused so I do not care if the players will not see themselves super-accurately on the map as they move, it's enough for me if they see other players around.

The way it works in my Angular implementation is:
    - user clicks a location in the map
    - client calculates the path to get there (player location in the map is grid-based so while they are animated pixel by pixel, the location on the server is saved as world coords (X,Y))