Search Unity

Networking: feedback and questions

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by BHouse, Sep 13, 2018.

1. BHouse

BHouse

[Edited September 2020]

In the Road to 2021 blog, we committed to a fully-supported solution for networking for Game Objects. This forum will continue the games networking discussion related to Game Objects, and if you are already using the DOTS networking solution - please share your needs and challenges with the team in the DOTS Forum.

Here are a couple of links that should provide relevant information and guidance as you move forward with networking for your game.
    - Brandi House on behalf of the Unity Networking team

Last edited: Sep 8, 2020
  2. monark

monark

So I'm not sure if this is the right place for this question but I hope it's a relevant place. Please redirect me if not.

I'm new to multiplayer networking and starting my researching on how to get things setup for my particular use case.

There is a bewildering amount of information out there and most of it directed at the older multiplayer systems.

Starting with a clean slate and the new developments where would you point me to solve this scenario

1. I have a multi device already existing "game" that is used primarily on desktop in WebGL and on mobile iOS and Android in app form. It also exists in standalone exe format and legacy Webplayer - but I don't need to worry about those. I need to add multi-player into this existing ecosystem.

2. In terms of multi-player I need to only setup initially to account for one user as host and many (but only small numbers say max. about 30) of clients that the host needs to communicate with.

3. A specific invitation can be sent by the host to the clients to join a multi-player session. It's not designed to be accessed by anyone anywhere, in general all the players will in fact be in the same physical room.