Search Unity

Network Options for Unity Game build...

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by Haplo, Dec 3, 2009.

1. Haplo

Haplo

Greetings all,

Ok so here it is: Cards are on the table and I've decided on Unity to develop our up and coming MMORPG style game with.

Problem is, the more I read the more it sounds like people are having problems with any sort of client / server layout.

The game does not have to be contiguous maps - it can still just be large maps that have portals to the next, but we do want there to be the availability of at least 1k or so people on any given server before having to 'open' another one.

So, my question is then... from the tutorials and walkthroughs I have done so far - what are my options? I've never used PDS or that ilk before so it is over my head. I am unfamiliar with coding outside of this framework and I do not want to have to start over later.

Are there any resources that would either prep me for coding both ends of this properly, and getting an in-house server / client setup for testing until release, or is anyone interested? Basically after having paid for a few code - and - runners we are now on a shoe-string budget, need to save what's left for modeling and animations, and I need to learn everything I can for myself if at all possible.

Thanks for your time and take care,
    - Hap

2. Dreamora

Dreamora

Basically you have a few options:

1. Use TCP / UDP sockets directly and develop your own networking and backend solution

2. Use lidgren and only develop the backend solution

3. Use NetDog and develop the own backend solution (unless they include one by now)

4. Use photon and either develop an own backend or wait for the showcased mmo base layer for photon to base your work on that

5. use pds and "only implement the game"