Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Network.Instantiate: Asset couldn't be found...

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by vampir26, Jun 3, 2010.

  1. vampir26

    vampir26

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    108
    Hi
    Sorry, my english is not very good. But I think, you understand me.
    I want to spawn a player.
    I have a client project and a server project.

    Client:
    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. function Start(){
    3.    Network.Connect("127.0.0.1", 25000, "pass");
    4. }
    Server:
    Code (csharp):
    1. function Start(){
    2.    Network.InitializeSecurity();
    3.    Network.incomingPassword = "pass";
    4.    Network.InitializeServer(4, 25000);
    5. }
    6.  
    7. var player1 : Transform;
    8. function OnPlayerConnected(player: NetworkPlayer){
    9.    Network.Instantiate(player1, new Vector3(1, 0, 1), Quaternion(0,0,0,0), 0);
    10. }
    player1 is a prefab (yes, with a networkView component). This prefab is in both projects, same name and in the same folder.
    Client errors:
    - Network.Instantiate on the receiving client failed because the asset couldn't be found in the project
    - View ID AllocatedID: 1 not found during lookup. Strange behaviour may occur
    - Received state update for view id' AllocatedID: 1' but the NetworkView doesn't exist

    No errors on server. The player spawns and I can move it.

    Can somebody help me please?
    Why can't unity3d find the prefab?

    Thx
     
  2. d.toliaferro

    d.toliaferro

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Posts:
    95
    I know this thread is old as dirt, but I found a solution here.

    The prefab must be in both projects, and it must be the same exact prefab. IE: If you created the prefab on the server, then it must be transferred to the client machine first. What I do is I make a unitypackage of the prefab and Dropbox it to the other machine. It works like a charm.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2011
  3. zilo

    zilo

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    try export package
    export that object and import it to different project
     
  4. pertsa

    pertsa

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Posts:
    15
    That did it, thank you very many!
     
unityunity