Search Unity

Nested Scenes instead of Nested Prefabs

Discussion in 'Prefabs' started by NathanWarden, Oct 8, 2018.

1. NathanWarden

NathanWarden

While I think the nested prefabs are a great step forward from what Unity is currently offering they seem to still be one step behind, overly complicated, and not solve problems that still exist. A nested scene system, where the nested scenes have over-ridable fields makes a lot more sense.

I've been using Godot on the side for a few years now and have been able to do everything the nested prefab system does, but without the clutter. I work at a medium sized company right now where it's quite difficult to work on large scenes without stepping on each other's toes.

Solution (before nested prefabs 2018.2): Break the project into multiple scenes. (IE. Terrain, vegetation, props, gameplay, etc)
    New Problem: Now, how do we set up an environment and do lightmap baking without making our project overly complicated?

Nested prefabs will be an okay solution to this, but only if each of these scene layers (which can be quite large) is now a prefab, which contains its nested prefabs.

In other words, we'll be placing each of our entire scene layers into a prefab. So at that point, why not just have a nested scene system (like Godot Engine has) at this point? It is much simpler to comprehend and gets the exact same job done as nested prefabs, but without the project clutter (and mental clutter).

==== Conclusion ====

So, in Godot I have to learn one thing... scenes. In Unity I have to learn scenes, prefabs, and each of their modes in order to get the same job done as what I get learning one concept in Godot.