Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.2 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Terrain Neighbor Terrain Not Reconnecting

Discussion in 'World Building' started by AngelaEngle12, Feb 6, 2020.

  1. AngelaEngle12

    AngelaEngle12

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Greetings,

    I'm using Unity 2019.3.0f6. I'm building an open world. I have 4 terrains that need to be connected together. When I put the first two terrains down they connected just fine, but when I added the next two, they refuse to connect despite having the same group ID. Is there something I'm missing? Can I also change the code around to fix this?

    Here is an image of the landmass; note the center terrain and the southern terrain connect just fine, the other two do not connect to the center terrain:

    https://i.imgur.com/y7XinIX.png
     
  2. darkgaze

    darkgaze

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2017
    Posts:
    99
  3. wyattt_

    wyattt_

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
    Posts:
    364
    Which versions of Unity are both of you using?
     
  4. AngelaEngle12

    AngelaEngle12

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I'm using Unity 2019.3.0f6.
     
  5. AngelaEngle12

    AngelaEngle12

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Posts:
    4
  6. AngelaEngle12

    AngelaEngle12

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Well, I was able to somewhat fix my issue. I think it was something pretty newbish; the terrain resolutions weren't the same so it was breaking the connection. I just did a restart of the project and established the terrains and neighbors before adding in the height maps. I made sure every terrain and height map were the same resolution and height. So far, no issues and I'm able to sculpt over the seams.
     
    wyattt_ likes this.
  7. blackant

    blackant

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Posts:
    478
    hello, i have also this problem.
    It was working when i created the terrain yesterday, but modifying it today, broke something.
    i added 2 others terrains on the side and they are correctly connected.

    i'm on unity 2020.1.0a13

    I tried to solve this by exporting the heightmap data and reimporting it on a new fresh terrain, but it seems to break the connection immediatelly after that import.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 17, 2020
unityunity