Search Unity

Needing Help

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by beachbuderfly, Sep 20, 2018.

1. beachbuderfly

beachbuderfly

Hello!
    I am a teacher of a robotics club at my school. Our mission this year is to create a solution to a physical or social program astronauts face while in deep space. We have come up with an app that is split screen (half like facetime and the other half would be virtual board games). I love the idea my students came up with but am struggling getting it off the ground. I have talked to various outside people but it takes awhile to get back and competition is in December. I've just started using Unity in my Coding Club (I am a beginner as well). I discovered on here that you can make apps. Is there anyway someone could direct me in how to create a split screen and possibly a facetime type component if that is at all possible. Thank you guys sooooo much!!!!!

2. BlackPete

BlackPete

Well... if you're really starting from scratch, then you'll need to go through the basics of how to use Unity before learning how to do splitscreen, etc.

Split screens are actually quite easy with multiple cameras and render textures, but if you're not familiar with those, then I'd recommend starting at the very beginning using Unity's tutorials: https://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials

3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Firstly I'd suggest starting with the Learn section, which you should see a link to at the very top of the page. How you would do "split screen" kind of depends on specifically what you mean.

Unity is capable of rendering multiple in game cameras at the same time. You'd have these cameras render to RenderTextures, and position them however you wish for the screen to split.

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/RenderTexture.html