Search Unity

Need some PC advice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Masoric, May 27, 2019.

1. Masoric

Masoric

I am new to unity and I am working on a project as a learning experience more then anything else. However I have very limited time. So I am trying to minimize the time I am waiting for things like light baking and other computational time consuming tasks. Of the below two choices what is my best option to reduce wasted time vs cost.

1) I have an existing Dual CPU system with 64GB of ram and Dual Xenon E5- 2667 3.2 Ghz chips and a Nvidia 660TI sitting in my basement.

2) Buy a new system with one of the gen 9 i-7 chips

If the performance difference is marginal I would rather stick with what I have. If there would be a significant difference going new then I would rather go ahead and upgrade.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Masoric

2. Murgilod

Murgilod

Pretty much every i9 on the market has a Passmark score at least twice as high on a single CPU as the dual CPU setup you have is. Also, honestly, your graphics card is probably on its last legs too, seeing as even when it was new it was a mid-range card.

3. CortiWins

CortiWins

Thats a hefty amount of ram you got there. Which type and lock rate is it?

4. ShilohGames

ShilohGames

If you are starting out, just stick an SSD drive in that old rig you have and get started. That will be adequate for short term needs. Longer term, you will likely want something newer for CPU and GPU.

Ryiah and angrypenguin like this.
  5. Murgilod

Murgilod

Honestly? Nah. The computer they're talking about is 7 years old and its processing power honestly won't even be on par with an i9-9900K. The only thing that computer has going for it in 2019 is the amount of memory and, honestly? I'm not even sure if it'd be as performant as half the capacity at a better speed. Hell, if there's any amount of 3D work being done, a 660TI isn't a great bet either.

6. Masoric

Masoric