Search Unity

Need some knowledge on Realtime Lightmaps

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by Only4gamers, Jul 21, 2020.

1. Only4gamers

Only4gamers

Hello everyone,
    I am new in Unity and I need some clarification on how lightmaps work. I am creating a game with Realtime lights and shadows only, nothing is baked. And my game is running smoothly and everything is good, but i want to decrease my game size. So, for this I am removing some unimportant objects from lightmap by setting 0 in "Scale in Lightmap". So my questions are:
    1) What will happen if I don't add an object in lightmap?
    2) is that object will look bad
    3) What is the Pros and Cons of lightmapping an object?
    4) Is not lightmapping will increase memory usage or GPU/CPU load?
    or anything else you think I should know, then please explain that too.
    Thanks.

2. ADufay

ADufay

Unity Technologies

Hello,

If you are using only realtime lights and no baking at all there is no point in removing objects by using a 0 scale in lightmap as you don't have any lightmaps anyway.

2) No that object will not look bad since you are not using baking.

Regarding 3), you can have a look at https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/Lightmappers.html There is a pretty good amount of knowledge in there that can help you.

Cheers

Only4gamers likes this.
  3. Only4gamers

Only4gamers

Thank you so much for reply. But what texture things are appearing in Realtime Lightmaps? Like index: 0, index: 1 etc in
    Window>Rendering>Lighting Settings>Realtime Lightmaps.
    When I am removing objects from Lightmap these index files are decreasing. Like previously I have 30 index files and after removing some objects index decreased to 18.

4. Bordeaux_Fox

Bordeaux_Fox

Hi,

I do not fully understand the actual problem. So you do not want the Realtime lightmaps at all?