Search Unity

Need some input for level design

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by gunshow, Apr 29, 2019.

1. gunshow

gunshow

hi guy's quick question, how do you design and prep your levels? would you model the scene in a 3d editor like 3d max or would you break it down into segments? i am a 3d artist but i dont often make my own scenes so i dont know what the best approach is.

for example if i make a indoor game level like a hospital, would you model the whole base environment (hallways,rooms) into one model? or would you break it into segments kind of like fps creator used to do.

thnx

DBarlok likes this.
  2. Steve_Stevens

Steve_Stevens

I have been thinking about the same thing. I need a city. I have low poly models, but cannot draw to save my life! I was thinking maybe I build the city block by block in blender(I can still animate the windows and doors) then import each block into unity. I think having bigger "chunks" will be more performant when they are culled when out of view. But, I haven't gotten that far into my project yet. I'm still prototyping classes and working out on paper the client/server fun stuff. Since I am HORRIBLE at world design and all, I am kind of putting all that off until I HAVE to do it. When ever I get bored of flying around primitives, or driving around my terrain painted world. I am pretty sure I will want the race tracks as 1 full object that I can just plop down in designated area. Same with the airports and shipyard. I just lack the skills to lay it out in unity. If it was as easy as doing a finite state machine for AI, I'd be done by now! lol

DBarlok likes this.
  3. kdgalla

kdgalla

I like to create small, modular objects in the 3D modeler (blender in my case) and assemble them in the Unity editor. For me, level editing is always an iterative process of testing and adjusting, so I'm constantly changing things at a broad scope. It's much easier to be able to do that directly in the editor.