Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Need info on advanced custom node writing

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by ChaosCraft, Aug 7, 2022.

1. ChaosCraft

ChaosCraft

Hi all, I'm just getting into the visual scripting system - we have a few places we want to use it, and I'm very keen to make it as friendly as possible for our writers and artists to use.
    This is leading me to want a much deeper understanding of how the entire thing operates under the hood.
    As a simple example, many system node types use different colours. I'd like to colour code a couple of our node types (and if possible, some of our connectors too)
    My main point is... Where do I find out about this? Can I pull the code base and walk the code myself? Will I need a PhD to understand it if I do?
    The things I most want to understand right now are,
    - How much further can I go in custom node design? Can I get into how a node is drawn etc, can I control port icons or colours (for eg, colouring Fail condition flows with a red arrow?), Can I add non-port configuration properties on a node type (i.e stuff that would be set in the graph inspector where it shows inputs not on the node block - and yes there is a good reason)
    - What are the various functions on the Flow and Unit types? Can I use flow to interrupt or pause a node while the rest of the game continues?

I have a bunch of specific goals these questions relate to and I'll ask them in separate threads, but my main question is Where do I go for detailed documentation on how it really works? or is there somewhere I can get to the source code for it all so I can see for myself?

I hope someone can point me in the right direction,
    Regards,
    Keith Ealanta (Chaos Crafter)

2. Trindenberg

Trindenberg