Search Unity

Need help with the programming / theory of 2D stage development

Discussion in '2D' started by negative_zero, Jan 14, 2014.

1. negative_zero

negative_zero

Not sure if this is better suited for this forum or the scripting one, but here goes...

I'm brand new to game dev / Unity as of 4.3. I've been working on a 2D platformer / runner using a grid system and so far all of my pieces are working very nicely. However, I can only make stages that are about 30 seconds long before I run into some framerate issues.

Now, my laptop I'm developing on is a bit old and not a gaming laptop, so I'm sure that is a big factor in the framerate. However, it generally can run 2D sprite-based platformers without issues, and I'm not doing anything particularly intensive with my game (I don't think...) So obviously something is wrong with the way I'm doing things if I'm getting framerate issues already.

On the scripting side there is probably a bit I could do to get some of the processing of some of my more intensive pieces down. I may have overused the Update function a wee bit. That's what I'm going to be looking into over the next few days.

However, what I'm looking for advice in here is more along the lines of how people handle dealing with entire stages in 2D games? I know there is no one answer, but I'm looking for some kind of consensus.

The way I see it there are probably a variety of approaches:

A. Build an entire stage in the editor, have everything in it running the entire time (what I'm doing right now.) This has to be a terrible idea, right?

B. Build an entire stage in the editor, "turn off" the scripts on a bunch of your pieces and only turn them on when you need them, then turn them off again when you don't need them

C. Something similar to B, except don't even place the pieces in the editor, just spawn them in when you need them and kill them off when you no longer need them

D. Some combination of the above