Search Unity

Need help with term search and feasibility questions.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Amuscaria, Aug 24, 2017.

1. Amuscaria

Amuscaria

Hello Unity Forums. I'm completely new to Unity and am looking for some help looking for the proper terms to search for, so I can look up the correct topics and tutorials online for a project I'll be working on for class. I'm also looking for opinions on rather the project I have is feasible from those that have much more experience than me. Refer to the reference image below. ProjectRef.png

1) I'm trying to make a ultra-sound simulation for class. I basically need a probe-object to interact with a number of tissue-objects based on in-game pressure applied. I need the probe to deform the skin-object (the square tile), and to a lesser extent the artery-object (the tube). The Skin- and tube needs to deform when the probe pressed down on the surface, but needs to rebound when the probe is removed, and the amount of deformation should be proportional to the in-game pressure. Is this doable? If so, what is the proper terminology for this in-game behavior? I've looked up mesh deformation, but that's always done for a 2D plane, not a 3D flattened cube. Or is the concept the same?

2) I want a simulated cross-section plane attached to the tip of the probe that renders out the cross-section of the intersected objects defending on the probe angle and depth. I need this to be rendered on a separate UI element. I've seen something similar done with cross-section shaders, but never seen it the cross-section itself rendered on a different UI element or window. Is this doable? If so, might someone point me in the proper direction?