Search Unity

Need help with shader (unlit, solid color, alpha8 texture)

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Mornedil, Jan 25, 2020.

1. Mornedil

Mornedil

i'm trying to create an unlit shader that takes a color value (RGBA), and a grayscale texture as an alpha mask.
    I also want it to be as cheap as possible since I want it working well on mobile platforms.
    But, I have no experience writing shaders so I've come here for help.

This is what I've come up with so far:

Code (csharp):
    1. Shader "Custom/UnlitColorAlphamask" {
    2.     Properties {
    3.         _Color ("Main Color (With Alpha)", Color) = (1,1,1,1)
    4.         _MainTex ("Base (RGB)", 2D) = "white" {}
    5.     }
    6.     SubShader {
    7.         Tags { "RenderType" = "Transparent" "Queue" = "Transparent"}
    9.         ZWrite Off
    11.         Blend SrcAlpha OneMinusSrcAlpha
    12.         ColorMask RGB
    14.         Pass {
    15.             Lighting Off
    16.             SetTexture[_MainTex] {
    17.                 constantColor [_Color]
    18.                 Combine texture * constant DOUBLE
    19.             }
    20.         }
    21.     }
    22. }
    It works almost like I want it, but currently it uses an RGB texture rather than an Alpha8 texture (which to me seems like a waste of file space since I only need an alpha value)
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/jxcrqo0o39oume3/shader.png?dl=0

If I change the compression to Alpha8 however, the color turns completely black (but with working alpha).
    How can I modify this shader to take an Alpha8 compressed image as an input without that affecting it's color?

Edit:
    Since I have no experience writing shaders I'm also wondering how well this would work on mobile platforms

Last edited: Jan 25, 2020
  2. Invertex

Invertex

Alpha 8 only stores the color information in the alpha channel. But that fixed function shader code isn't handling that case.