Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Need help with Parallax Occlusion Mapping with shader graph

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by filocava99, Jul 11, 2020.

1. filocava99

filocava99

Hi everyone. I'm just getting started using the shader graph feature so I'm pretty bad at it.
    Anyway, I was trying to implement the parallax occlusion mapping.
    These are the images I have been using: https://imgur.com/a/ruvQ5Zd and this is what I have done so far: https://prnt.sc/tfswcf .
    I am not sure it is working properly.
    If anyone could give me some advices I would really appreciate

2. bgolus

bgolus

Parallax Occlusion mapping is way, way more complex than you might be expecting. Here’s an example graph for Unreal. This is too zoomed out to be useful, but gives an idea of the shader’s complexity. Notice, it’s not even the entire graph.
    https://m.imgur.com/KIoJ2p9

Generally people don’t bother implementing parallax occlusion mapping in graphs because it’s a huge pain. There’ve been a few custom nodes made for Unity’s Shader Graph, but Unity’s broken all of them with updates they’ve done. Unity’s HDRP comes with it’s own Parallax Occlusion Mapping node, but for some reason it’s not been merged into the main Shader Graph branch so it’s not available for URP.

If you want to read more about parallax occlusion mapping, this link is helpful. Though you’ll have to translate the code into nodes yourself. Note, the first part is about parallax offset mapping, which is a simpler, more approximate effect that’s much easier to implement.
    https://catlikecoding.com/unity/tutorials/rendering/part-20/

Voltion, JamesThornton and filocava99 like this.
  3. filocava99

filocava99

That's exactly the same tutorial I was reading to learn more about POM. Thank you for the tips!

4. andybak

andybak