Search Unity

Need help with multi-threading.

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Affy, Sep 10, 2014.

1. Affy

Affy

Hello! I'm new to Unity (new to C# as well in fact), have been using it for a few weeks now. So far, I love the engine!

Anyway, I've been experimenting with A* pathfinding for my RTS game and it became evident that I needed to do the path calculations on a separate thread to improve performance.

So, knowing little about threads I started reading about it but then I stumbled upon this script which allows me to run a closure/anonymous function in another thread. I'm sure others have seen the script, I think it's similar to the "Loom" thing on the asset store.

Anyway, here is essentially what I'm doing with the script:

Here's what I'm doing in psuedocode:

Code (CSharp):
    1. //Navigator.cs
    2. void moveTo(Node target) {
    3.     this.path = pathfinding.findPath(transform.position, target);
    4. }
    5. void Update() {
    6.     if (this.path != null) {
    7.    //move along the current path
    8.     }
    9. }
    11. //Pathfinding.cs, here I'm using the Loom script, to run the path calculation on a separate thread.
    12. Path findPath(from, to) {
    13.     Path path = new Path(from, to)
    15.     Loom.RunAsync(() => {
    16.         List<Node> open = new List<Node>();
    17.         List<Node> closed = new List<Node>();
    18.         while(open.Count > 0 && path.cancelled = false) {
    19.            //A* algorithm...
    20.         }
    21.     });
    23.     return path;
    24. }

The lockup/freeze mostly happens when I have several units generating paths simultaneously. E.g 3-4 units.

So, the question is.. what's the issue? Is this because I'm initializing/destroying the Lists? (open & closed lists).

Maybe I should make a queue system and put all paths on a queue, then I could use the same Open & Closed Lists.