Search Unity

Need help with MissingReferenceException

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by yoanpumar, Sep 13, 2020.

1. yoanpumar

yoanpumar

Hi guys,

I've been struggled in the last 2 days with a null reference exception and I don't know what is happening. Let me start saying that I'm new in game development, so it's possible that I'm doing something wrong :). I'm using only one scene with a State Manager class to handle different states and transitions between them. Everything is working fine until I try to enter the GamePlay state the second time. For instance, I can go through the main menu, start playing, stop the game play to comes back to the main menu, until here, everything is ok but if I want to go back to the game play state again, then I got the null reference error. I'm sharing details below to see if hopefully someone can help me with this because honestly, I don't know what else to do :(.

GamePlayState
    Code (CSharp):
    2. public class GamePlayState : BaseState
    3.     {
    4.         GamePlayStateGUI gameComponent;
    6.          // Initialization method.  Called after the state
    7.         // is added to the stack.
    8.         public override void Initialize()
    9.         {          
    10.             Time.timeScale = 1.0f;
    11.             Screen.sleepTimeout = SleepTimeout.NeverSleep;
    12.             gameComponent = SpawnUI<Menus.GamePlayStateGUI>(Constants.PrefabGamePlayState);
    14.             m_CountdownRectTransform = gameComponent.countdownText.GetComponent<RectTransform>();
    16.             // Subscribe player spawn event
    17.             CommonData.mainGame.PlayerSpawnedEvent.AddListener(StartGame);
    19.             // Spawn the player object          
    20.             CoroutineHandler.StartStaticCoroutine(CommonData.mainGame.SpawnPlayer());            
    21.         }
    23.         public void StartGame()
    24.         {