Search Unity

Need help with mesh textures

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Rob64, Aug 15, 2010.

1. Rob64

Rob64

Hi all,
    I'm new to unity and have used it for 4 days now, thank you for great programme. I'm exporting .OBJ meshes into unity from a programme called Deled3d. The meshes have been textured before being exported and I've put the mesh and the texture in the assets file but the mesh shows up in unity untextured. The texture does show up in unity and I can use it to texture meshes and objects in general but how do you get the mesh to have the textured look it had when it was created in the exporting programme. Thanks for any help.

2. fallingbrickwork

fallingbrickwork

If you have created materials correctly with UVs within your modeller and exported, everything should be fine. Select your model in the scene and you should see your material in the inspector window. Change the shader to what you need, ie bumped, specular and drag you textures onto the slots in the material.

Let me know how you get on.

Regards,
    Matt.

3. Rob64

Rob64

Thanks for replying Matt,
    I exported a single cube out of Deled3D with a uv map consisting of 4 different textures (didn't do a uv map before), exported the textures also, this time the cube did have one texture on it covering every face, and only this texture shows in the inspector window. The other textures show in the project window. I can't see any slots to drag textures into, what did you mean by that.
    regards
    Rob

4. fallingbrickwork

fallingbrickwork

I think you may be getting textures and materials mixed up. If you are using 4 different textures within your modeller, you should be creating 4 materials. If everything is exporting ok you should see these 4 materials in the inspector.