Search Unity

Need help with Firebase Remote Config

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by chuakc92, Nov 22, 2016.

  1. chuakc92

    chuakc92

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Posts:
    20
    I can't seem to get Firebase to work properly, even while using Google's quickstart samples here: https://github.com/firebase/quickstart-unity

    Specs:
    Unity 5.35f1

    Here's what I did:

    1: Downloaded the quickstart and opened the remote configuration test app in Unity.
    2: Went into Firebase console and clicked Create New Project >> Add Firebase to Android app >> inserted the bundle identifier in player settings into package name.
    3: Downloaded the .json and placed it in my folder
    4: Imported the Firebase remote notification package into Unity

    Ran the game in the editor and clicked "Display Current Data":
    RemoteConfig configured and ready!
    CurrentData:
    config_test_string : default local string
    config_test_int : 1
    config_test_float : 1
    config_test_bool : False

    Then clicked "Fetch Remote Data":
    Fetching data...
    Fetch completed successfully!
    Remote data loaded and ready.

    Then clicked "Display Current Data":
    config_test_string : default local string
    config_test_int : 1
    config_test_float : 1
    config_test_bool : False

    As you can see, it's still the same default values provided by Google.

    I then went into Firebase console again and clicked on Remote Config and added all the parameters ( http://imgur.com/9tSlswA ) and published.

    Tested again:
    config_test_string : default local string
    config_test_int : 1
    config_test_float : 1
    config_test_bool : False
    Fetching data...
    Fetch completed successfully!
    Remote data loaded and ready.
    config_test_string : default local string
    config_test_int : 1
    config_test_float : 1
    config_test_bool : False

    This was all done in the Unity editor.

    I then tried to build it on an Android device and it crashed on startup.

    Has anyone successfully gotten Firebase Remote Config to work?
     
  2. vzgueb

    vzgueb

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Hi. I encounter the same issue.
     
  3. chuakc92

    chuakc92

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Posts:
    20
    Hey! I managed to fix it.

    Next in Unity, go to Edit >> preferences >> external tools and next to NDK, click download.

    Once it's done, extract it and point to the folder. Then build.

    It should now work if your bundle identifier is correct.
     
    harrismak4 likes this.
  4. sybenari

    sybenari

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    chuakc92, when it was fixed, was ur app published in the store?
     
  5. unity_18se02it016

    unity_18se02it016

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    I have same issue but it isn't solving with above solution any other solution.
    Please Help